Good Morning
Good Morning
Long IslandNassau

Tax extension in 51 Nassau school districts

Park Avenue Elementary School is located at 1599

Park Avenue Elementary School is located at 1599 Park Ave. in North Merrick. (April, 2, 2012) Credit: Nicole Bartoline

A three-week grace period for residents in 51 Nassau school districts to extend their school tax payments without interest or penalties began Tuesday.

Under executive orders signed by Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo, these residents have until Dec. 4 to make payments because of the ongoing recovery from superstorm Sandy.

The school taxes had been due Tuesday.

Hempstead Town Supervisor Kate Murray sent a letter to Cuomo Tuesday asking for the deadline to be extended for all town school districts.

The governor, who had done that for 34 districts, signed an additional executive order for 17 others late Tuesday.

State law authorizes the governor to extend the property tax deadline during a state disaster emergency for up to 21 days.

Officials in Nassau's three towns were scrambling to inform residents about the extension, posting data on their websites and social media pages.

The grace period applies to the following districts: Amityville, Baldwin, Bellmore, Bethpage, Carle Place, Cold Spring Harbor, East Meadow, East Williston, Elmont, Farmingdale, Floral Park-Bellerose, Franklin Square, Freeport, Garden City, Great Neck, Hempstead, Herricks, Hewlett-Woodmere, Hicksville Public School District, Island Park, Island Trees, Jericho, Lawrence, Levittown, Locust Valley, Long Beach City School District, Lynbrook, Malverne, Manhasset, Massapequa Public School District, Mineola, New Hyde Park-Garden City Park, North Bellmore, North Merrick, North Shore Central School District, Oceanside, Oyster Bay-East Norwich, Plainedge, Plainview-Old Bethpage, Port Washington, Rockville Centre, Roslyn, Seaford, Syosset, Uniondale Public Schools, Valley Stream Districts 13, 24 and 30, Wantagh, Westbury and West Hempstead.

Nassau top stories