Good Afternoon
Good Afternoon
Long IslandPolitics

Democrats tap Laura Curran as Nassau County executive candidate

Legis. Laura Curran (D-Baldwin), speaks to supporters after

Legis. Laura Curran (D-Baldwin), speaks to supporters after being nominated at the Nassau Democratic Party convention on Wednesday night, May 31, 2017, to be their candidate for Nassau County Executive. Credit: Newsday / Thomas A. Ferrara

Nassau Democrats nominated Legis. Laura Curran Wednesday night as their pick for county executive, choosing the second-term lawmaker over the insurgent campaign of county Comptroller George Maragos.

The party committee chose Curran (D-Baldwin), who would be Nassau’s first female county executive nominee, during its convention at the Cradle of Aviation Museum in Garden City.

Curran told a crowd of roughly 400 Democrats that she had a solution to wipe out county patronage, repair its much maligned contracting system, and fix the way property taxes are assessed.

“Residents are sick and tired of watching their hard-earned tax dollars fund a job program for the elected and the connected and a PR campaign for their perennial re-election bid,” Curran said.

Maragos, who changed his party affiliation from Republican to Democrat last year, did not attend the convention.

“Democratic Party voters will be selecting their nominee on September 12th, and the party bosses are endorsing someone unqualified, inexperienced and beholden to special interests,” according to a statement from Maragos, who is running an “Independent Democrat” ticket challenging party-backed candidates.

Nassau Democratic Party chairman Jay Jacobs called Curran the “only candidate left who will bring integrity to the office and clean up the mess brought on by years of Republican incompetence and corruption.”

Curran announced her candidacy in November and has coalesced support from county and state lawmakers and labor officials. Last week, Assemb. Charles Lavine (D-Glen Cove) ended his candidacy for county executive and backed Curran.

Lavine nominated Curran Wednesday night, calling her “tough, smart and independent.”

Also Wednesday Rep. Thomas Suozzi (D-Glen Cove) — who served two terms as county executive and was nominated four times for the seat — joined Legis. Arnold Drucker (D-Plainview), and Delia DeRiggi-Whitton (D-Glen Cove), in endorsing Curran and the countywide Democratic slate.

Nassau Democrats made several other nominations for legislative seats Wednesday night as they attempt to win control of the county legislature, where the GOP holds a 12-7 advantage.

Among those nominated: Freeport trustee Debra Mule for the 5th District seat being vacated by Curran; Eileen Napolitano for the 13th District seat being vacated by retiring presiding officer Norma Gonsalves (R-East Meadow), and Joshua Lafazan, who in 2012 won a spot on the Syosset Board of Education at age 18, against incumbent Legis. Donald MacKenzie (R-Oyster Bay) in the 18th District.

Joining Curran on the countywide ticket are comptroller candidate and Long Beach City Manager Jack Schnirman and clerk candidate Dean Bennett, who runs a consulting firm.

Nassau Republicans have nominated former state Sen. Jack Martins as their county executive candidate.

Candidates named at Wednesday night’s Nassau County Democratic Convention:

  • County Executive: Laura Curran
  • County Comptroller: Jack Schnirman
  • County Clerk: Dean Bennett
  • Nassau County Legislature:
  • District 1: Kevan Abrahams
  • District 2: Siela Bynoe
  • District 3: Carrié Solages
  • District 4: Jane Fisher
  • District 5: Debra Mule
  • District 6: Dino Amoroso
  • District 7: to be determined
  • District 8: Carl Gerrato
  • District 9: Mal Nathan
  • District 10: Ellen Birnbaum
  • District 11:Delia DeRiggi-Whitton
  • District 12: Alex Melton
  • District 13: Eileen Napolitano
  • District 14: Robert Pena
  • District 15:Michael Sheridan
  • District 16: Arnold Drucker
  • District 17: Ray Arora
  • District 18: Josh Lafazan
  • District 19: Jeff Gold
  • Town of Hempstead
  • Supervisor: Laura Gillen
  • Town Clerk: Sylvia Cabana
  • Council Member 1: Dorothy Goosby
  • Council Member 4: Doug Mayer
  • Council Member 6: Sue Moller
  • Town of North Hempstead
  • Supervisor:Judi Bosworth
  • Town Clerk: Wayne Wink
  • Council Member 1: Viviana Russell
  • Council Member 3: Jerry Vatamala
  • Council Member 5:Lee Seeman
  • Town of Oyster Bay
  • Supervisor: Marc Herman
  • Town Clerk: Dean Hart
  • Council Member: Bob Freier
  • Council Member: James Versocki
  • Council Member: Eva Pearson
  • City of Glen Cove
  • Mayor: Tim Tenke
  • Council Member: Roger Williams
  • Council Member: Roderick Watson
  • Council Member: Anne Phillips
  • Council Member: Andrew Bennett
  • Council Member: Marcela De La Fuente
  • Council Member: Gaitley Stevenson Mathews
  • City of Long Beach
  • Council Member: Barbara Bernardini
  • Council Member: Joseph Miccio
  • Council Member: Runner Myles
  • County Court Judge: Joseph Conway
  • County Court Judge: Tammy Robbins
  • Family Court Judge: Linda Mejias
  • Family Court Judge: Eileen Daly-Sapraicone

1st District Court Judge: Elizabeth Fox McDonoungh

2nd District Court Judge: Gary Cartlon

2nd District Court Judge: Maxine Broderick

2nd District Court Judge: Geoffrey Prime

Latest Long Island News