Good Morning
Good Morning
Long IslandPolitics

March 2016 Long Island village election results

Long Island voters will decide the outcomes of

Long Island voters will decide the outcomes of contested elections in the villages of Northport, Roslyn Estates, East Hills, East Williston, Mineola, Lindenhurst, Mastic Beach, Patchogue and Head of the Harbor on Tuesday, March 15, 2015. Credit: AP, 2010

March 2016 Village Elections Contested Races:

Northport: Incumbents Damon McMullen and Jerry Maline won re-election to two trustee seats. Challenger Joseph Sabia lost.

Damon McMullen:  914 votes

Jerry Maline: 694 votes

Joseph Sabia: 508 votes

Roslyn Estates: Incumbent trustee Dr. Brian Feingold (Sunshine Party) won re-election for a two-year term.

Among the three write-in candidates Sandy Siff earned the most votes. Siff was trying to retire and is a current trustee whose seat was open this election. Clerk Bryan Rivera said “it’s obvious that some people want him back… It’s up to him whether he wants to go for another term or decline it.” Siff has 30 days to decide - if he rejects, the mayor will appoint a trustee for an interim’s year term.

Brian Feingold: 23 votes

Sandy Siff: 15 votes

Allan Mendels: 1 vote

Boaz Benmoshe: 1 vote

East Hills: Incumbents Deputy Mayor Emanuel Zuckerman and Clara Pomerantz won two trustee seats against challengers Neil Foster and Jana Goldenberg.

Clara Pomerantz: 855 votes 

Emanuel Zuckerman: 765 votes 

Neil Foster: 461 votes 

Jana Goldenberg: 401 votes.

East Williston: Incumbent trustee Chris Siciliano wins a second four-year term, defeating former Mayor Anthony Casella and former school board president Ellen Ritz.

Village justice Joseph Sperber ran unopposed for a four-year term. Emil Samuels was a write-in candidate.

Chris Siciliano (Neighborhood Party): 339 votes

Anthony Casella, former Mayor (Better EW Party): 256 votes

Ellen Ritz (Common Sense Party): 79 votes 

Joseph Sperber: 235 votes

Emil Samuels: 1 vote

Mineola: Incumbent trustees Paul Pereira and Paul Cusato won re-election in a race about the development of downtown Mineola.

Paul Pereira (New Line Party): 911 votes

Paul Cusato (Hometown Party): 829 votes

John Colbert (Save Our Suburb Party): 733 votes

Larry Werther (My Home Party): 632 votes

Lindenhurst Village: Lindenhurst voters returned incumbent Republican Mayor Thomas Brennan over challenger Kenneth St. John. Incumbent trustees Michael Lavorata and Joan Masterson were also returned to office, securing more votes than challenger Richard Renna.

Thomas Brennan: 1,685 votes

Kenneth St. John: 818 votes.

Michael Lavorata: 1,788 votes 

Joan Masterson: 1,558 votes

Richard Renna: Results not immediately available.

Mastic Beach: Incumbent trustee Betty Manzella was returned to her seat, while incumbent Bruce Summa lost his bid for re-election. Challenger Joseph Johnson was elected to the second vacant trustee seat, while challenger Darrin Harsch lost. Incumbent Barbara O’Malley was also elected village justice.

Incumbent trustee Bruce Summa

Incumbent trustee Elizabeth Manzella

Trustee challenger Joseph Johnson (lost last year)

Trustee challenger Darrin Harsch (lost last year)

Four people are vying for two seats.

Official voting tallies were not available as of Wednesday morning. Check back for full results.

Patchogue: Incumbent trustees Lori Devlin, Thomas Ferb and Jack Krieger were returned for four-year terms while challenger John Cucci Jr. lost. Mayor Paul Pontieri and trustee Susan Brinkman ran unopposed. 

Lori Devlin: 628 votes

Thomas Ferb: 605 votes

Jack Krieger: 593 votes

John Cucci Jr.: 145 votes

Head of the Harbor:  Mayor Douglas Dahlgard won reelection over challenger John Lendino. Incumbent trustees L. Gordon Van Vechten and Judith C. Ogden won re-election, while challenger John DePasquale lost his bid for trustee.

Douglas Dahlgard: 187 votes

John Lendino: 128 votes
L. Gordon Van Vechten: 211 votes 

Judith C. Ogden: 196 votes

John DePasquale: 147 votes

Latest Long Island News