54° Good Morning
54° Good Morning
Long IslandPolitics

Long Island village elections 2014-15

Long Beach resident Ellen Attanasio votes at Lindell

Long Beach resident Ellen Attanasio votes at Lindell Elementary School in Long Beach on Nov. 5, 2013. Credit: Newsday / J. Conrad Williams Jr.

The polls have now closed in village elections across Long Island. We'll have the results as soon as they come in.


Challenger George Pappas led longtime Atlantic Beach Village Mayor Stephen Mahler with a 391 to 325 final vote tally for the municipality’s top job.

Mahler, running on the Atlantic Beach Integrity Party line, has been an incumbent mayor for 18 years.

Pappas, 44, campaigning on the Peoples Party of the Village of Atlantic Beach incorporated party line, is the superintendent of the Town of Hempstead’s independent Sanitary District No. 1 based in Lawrence.



Bayville Trustee Paul Rupp handily beat incumbent mayor Douglas Watson with a 1322 to 965 vote. The trustee board will also have three new faces as challengers: Tim Charon, Joe Russo and John Taylor. They had 1322, 1274 and 1227 votes, respectively. The Bayville trustee opponents who lost were Gregory H. Reisiger (997 votes); Joseph M. Paniagua (976 votes) and Kathryn E. Caulfield (972 votes). -- SCOTT EIDLER


Brightwaters trustee Joseph McDermott defeated Deputy Mayor Denise Gibson for mayor, with McDermott garnering 481 votes to Gibson’s 423. McDermott’s running mates Diane Urso and Donna Barnett won the two open trustee seats, with Urso taking 522 votes and Barnett 504 votes. They defeated Gibson’s running mates Steven Pertusati, who got 397 votes, and Gregory Rabin, who got 365 votes.



Incumbent Mayor Herb Morrow won with 299 votes over challenger Elizabeth “Betty” Wood, who garnered 192 votes.


Mayor Giovanna Giunta was re-elected (358 votes), defeating challengers James M. Avena (343 votes) and John O'Reilly (297 votes). Priscilla von Roeschlaub (344) and Kevin M. Gately, Jr. (357 votes) unseated incumbents Mark Lazarovic (341 votes) and Dorit Zeevi-Farrington (330 votes). Trustee candidates John S. Popeleski and Jonathan K. Davis received 290 votes and 265 votes, respectively. -- SCOTT EIDLER


Muttontown incumbent Mayor Julianne Beckerman defeated challenger Pericles Linardos, 473-270. Winners for trustee are: Newcomer Julie Albernas, 471 votes, and incumbent trustees Carl Juul-Nielsen, 463 votes; and Salvatore Benisatto, 457 votes. George Chalos received 274 votes, James Ronaghan got 263 votes and Russell Orenstein garnered 235 votes. -- SCOTT EIDLER


Incumbent trustee Bruce D'Abramo (545 votes) and Bruce Miller (553 votes) won the two seats up for grabs. Jill Nees-Russell received 515 votes.


Incumbent trustee Robby Stein of the Windmill Party (308 votes) and Sandra L. Schroeder of the Residents Party (270 votes) won the two open seats. They defeated John Shaka of the Main Street Party (219 votes) and Bruce A. Stafford of the Sag Harbor Party (124 votes). 

Latest Long Island News