Good Morning
Good Morning
Long IslandPolitics

Results for the June 16, 2015 Long Island village elections

Long Island voters will decide the outcomes of

Long Island voters will decide the outcomes of seven contested village elections on Tuesday, June 16, 2015. Credit: AP, 2010

Residents in seven Long Island villages headed to the polls Tuesday to vote on the following contested races. Here are the latest results.


Incumbents Christian Sullivan, Laurie Elliott, and Bernadette Whitwell were re-elected to their trustee seats. Challenger Steve Pertusati lost.

Laurie Elliott: 365

Bernadette Whitwell: 347

Christian P. Sullivan: 345

Steve Pertusati: 254


Polls were kept open an additional hour in Great Neck to accommodate the large voter turnout. Pedram Bral won the mayoral election, defeating incumbent Ralph J. Kreitzman.

Anne Mendelson and Raymond Plakstis Jr., both of the Voice of the Village Party, won two trustee seats, besting incumbents Mitchell B. Beckerman and Jeffrey L. Bass of the Better Government Party, and Samuel J. Yellis of the Bridge Party. Terms are for two years.

Pedram Bral: 1,040

Ralph Kreitzman: 391

Raymond Plakstis Jr.: 1,020

Anne Mendelson: 980

Jeffrey Bass: 350

Mitchell Beckerman: 346

Samuel J. Yellis: 136


The election for two trustee seats in Manhorhaven is in limbo, with five votes contested, and village officials poised to appear in State Supreme Court in Mineola on Wednesday, according to Village Clerk-treasurer Leslie Gross.

Incumbent Rita Di Lucia, of the Manorhaven Revival Party, was the top vote-getter, while challengers James M. Avena and John S. Popeleski, both of the Manorhaven Residents Party, and Deputy Mayor Lucretia Steele, of the Manorhaven Revival Party had vote totals within three votes of each other. Terms are for two years.

Rita Di Lucia: 438

James Avena: 415

John Popeleski: 411

Lucretia Steele: 412


Harold Berry and Jeffrey Koppelson each won a two-year term on the Board of Trustees, defeating Gary Garofano. (Incumbents Joseph Colombo and Sharon Abernathy did not run for reelection.)

Incumbent Sandra Nicoletti defeated challenger Karen Sartain, chair of the village Zoning Board of Appeals, for an unexpired trustee seat and will serve the last year of the term.

Jeffrey Koppelson: 131

Harold Berry: 105

Gary Garofano: 101

Sandra Nicoletti: 113

Karen Sartain: 69


Incumbent Mayor Margot Garant of the Unity Party won re-election, defeating challenger Dave Forgione of the Community Party. The term is for two years.

Incumbent Laurence LaPointe and Stanley Loucks, both of the Unity Party, won two trustee seats, defeating challenger Matthew Franco of the Village First party. The terms are for two years. (Incumbent Trustee Adrienne Kessel did not run.)

Margot Garant: 1,162

Dave Forgione: 753

Stanley Loucks: 1,205

Laurence LaPointe: 1160

Matthew Franco: 822


Trustee Sandra Schroeder won the mayoral election, defeating trustee Robby Stein. The term is for two years.

Sandra Shroeder: 338

Robby Stein: 281


Deputy Mayor Heather Brownlie and incumbent Richard Smith defeated Robert Ferris and Alfredo Paredes for two trustee seats. The terms are for two years.

Richard Smith: 40

Heather Brownlie: 38

Alfredo Paredes: 27

Bob Ferris: 25

The following villages will be holding elections on Friday, June 19.


Incumbent trustees Hank Tucker and Patricia DiBenedetto are being challenged by Brian Tymann and Rob Rubio. The term is for two years


Incumbent trustees Randy Cardo and Ted Necarsulmer, as well as challenger William Horak are running for trustee seats.

Latest Long Island News