Good Morning
Good Morning
Long IslandPolitics

Nassau County Democrats pick contenders for state legislature

Nassau Democratic Committee Chariman Jay Jacobs addresses the

Nassau Democratic Committee Chariman Jay Jacobs addresses the convention under the Blue Angels F-14. The Nassau County Democratic Committee held their nominating convention at the Cradle of Aviation, May 25, 2015 in Garden City. Credit: Daniel Goodrich

Nassau Democrats on Wednesday night nominated Long Beach City Councilman Anthony Eramo for the State Assembly seat vacated by Democrat Todd Kaminsky and former North Hempstead Town councilman Anthony D’Urso to succeed Assemb. Michelle Schimel, who is not running for re-election.

Eramo and D’Urso were part of a slate of State Senate and Assembly candidates that the Nassau Democratic Committee nominated at a convention in Garden City.

County Democratic Party chairman Jay Jacobs said Eramo, a Verizon field technician, deferred a run for the 20th Assembly seat in 2014 and now “it’s his turn. He will make an excellent assemblyman and will represent the area well.”

Eramo, a second-term city councilman, said he will “fight hard for families and the people of Long Beach.”

Eramo faces a Democratic primary against former Nassau County Legis. Jeff Toback. Long Beach firefighter Sam Pinto also is considering a run for the nomination.

Kaminsky won an April 19 special election to succeed former State Senate Majority Leader Dean Skelos. Kaminsky, of Long Beach, was nominated Wednesday for a full Senate term.

D’Urso, a town councilman from 1991 to 2005, said he will focus on taxes, the environment and cleaning up Albany.

“Public service is in my blood,” he said.

Schimel (D-Port Washington) is stepping down after serving five terms in the 16th Assembly District.

Andrew DeMartin, North Hempstead’s public safety commissioner, is mulling a Democratic primary against D’Urso.

Democrats also nominated Assemb. Earlene Hooper (D-Hempstead) for re-election in the 18th District.

Hooper, the Assembly deputy speaker, faces a primary from Freeport Village Trustee Carmen Pineyro and Anthony Miller, vice president of the Freeport Union Free School District.

Democrats will run Suffolk County Water Authority chairman James Gaughran in the 5th Senate District.

John Brooks, a former chief of the Seaford Fire Department, got the Democrats’ nomination in the 8th Senate District.

Adam Haber was nominated for the 7th Senate District seat being vacated by GOP State Sen. Jack Martins, who is running for Congress.

The party picked attorney Ryan Cronin to run in the 6th Senate District.

Jacobs said Democratic candidates will run on a platform of putting “Long Island first” for school aid and state funding.

The slogan reflects an effort to separate Nassau candidates from New York City Mayor Bill de Blasio. Republican candidates have repeatedly attempted to link Island Democratic candidates to de Blasio and his agenda.


5th Senate District: James Gaughran

6th Senate District: Ryan Cronin

7th Senate District: Adam Haber

8th Senate District: John Brooks

9th Senate District: Sen. Todd Kaminsky

9th Assembly District: Edward Buturla

13th Assembly District: Charles Lavine

14th Assembly District: Michael Reid

15th Assembly District: Dean Hart

16th Assembly District: Anthony D’Urso

17th Assembly District: Matt Malin

18th Assembly District: Earlene Hooper

19th Assembly District: Gary Port

20th Assembly District: Anthony Eramo

21st Assembly District: Gregory Beck

22nd Assembly District: Michaelle Solages

Hempstead Town Council, 4th District: Douglas Mayer

District Court, 2nd District:

Helen Voutsinas

Eileen Goggin

Family Court:

Ellen Greenberg

Stacy Bennett

Conrad Singer

Ayesha Brantley

Source: Nassau County Democratic Committee

Latest Long Island News