59° Good Afternoon
59° Good Afternoon
Long IslandPoliticsSpin Cycle

1st S.D.: State teachers' union backs LaValle for re-election

Below are the Long Islanders endorsed by NYS United Teachers. Notice that the only one of nine Nassau-Suffolk state Senate races to draw a choice is in the 1st S.D. where NYSUT supports incumbent Kenneth LaValle (R-Port Jefferson). Here's the full list from the union's Web site:

1 D/I/WF Tim Bishop
2 D/I/WF Steve Israel
4 D/I/WF Carolyn McCarthy
5 D/I/WF Gary Ackerman

New York State Senate
Senate District
I R Kenneth P. LaValle

New York State Assembly
Assembly District 
1 D Marc Alessi
2 I Fred Thiele Jr.
3 D Rob Calarco
4 D Steven Englebright
5 D Ken Mangan
6 D/I/WF Philip Ramos
8 R Philip Boyle
9 R/C/I Andrew Raia
11 D Robert Sweeney
12 R Joseph Saladino
13 D Charles Lavine
16 D Michelle Schimel
17 R Tom McKevitt
18 D/I Earlene Hooper
19 R/C/I David McDonough
20 D Harvey Weisenberg


We're revamping our Comments section. Learn more and share your input.

Latest Long Island News