Clear 27° Good Afternoon
Clear 27° Good Afternoon
Long IslandPoliticsSpin Cycle

Murray, Montesano sworn into Assembly

Michael Montesano (R-Glen Head) and Dean Murray (R-East Patchogue) spent their first day Monday as Assembly members. The pair, along with Robert J. Castelli (R-Westchester), were sworn in at 1 p.m. and seated in the Assembly chamber at 3 p.m.

Republicans remain a distinct minority in the 150-member chamber that’s been dominated by Democrats since 1975. But they were overjoyed to welcome three new members today.

Murray, departing from the script of thanking supporters after being sworn in, said he intended to work with both sides of the political aisle on bills. “It’s not about party, it’s about the people,” he told a crowd in the ornate Assembly parlor room.

Murray also joked about his narrow victory – 160 votes – over Democrat Lauren Thoden. “Landslide Murray came through. It was tight.”

Murray is the first Tea Party organizer to win a seat the State Legislature. He succeeds Democrat Patricia Eddington of Medford who is now serving as Brookhaven Town clerk.

Montesano follows Rob Walker (R-Hicksville) who is now a top adviser to Nassau County Executive Edward Mangano.

Latest Long Island News