Good Morning
Good Morning
Long IslandPoliticsSpin Cycle

New York State United Teachers announces endorsements

sIVOTE portrait of Todd Kaminsky, Dem candidate for

sIVOTE portrait of Todd Kaminsky, Dem candidate for re-election for the 9th SD, taken at his office, 100 Merrick Road, Rockville Centre, New York, on Friday Aug. 5, 2016. Credit: Richard T. Slattery

The New York State United Teachers, the state’s largest teachers union, has endorsed Democrats Todd Kaminsky and Adam Haber against their Republican challengers in two of Long Island’s most competitive State Senate races in November.

Haber, an East Hills businessman and Roslyn school board member, is running in the 7th Senate District against Republican Flower Hill Mayor Elaine Phillips.

The seat is being vacated by Republican Jack Martins, who is running for Congress.

“We will work together to continue to address the misguided Common Core curriculum, ensure Long Island’s schools are fairly funded and defend our resources against New York City private charter schools,” Haber said.

The union’s political action committee also backed Kaminsky, who won a State Senate seat in the 9th District after the arrest and conviction of former Sen. Dean Skelos on federal corruption charges.

Kaminsky will take on Republican Chris McGrath in a rematch of their closely fought contest in April.

“I’m honored to have NYSUT’s endorsement and I’ll continue my work to end the reign of Common Core, decouple evaluations from funding, and prevent the flow of our school aid to New York City,” Kaminsky said.

The teachers union also backed three Republican incumbent senators: Kenneth LaValle of Port Jefferson in the 1st District; Tom Croci of Islip in the 3rd District and Phil Boyle of Bay Shore in the 4th District. None of the three Republicans are in races that are considered competitive.

Republican Senate spokesman Scott Reif said the GOP is responsible for recent increases in education aid for Long Island schools.

“When it comes to protecting our schools and standing up for kids, Senate Republicans have always been there doing what’s right for New York,” Reif said.

He added that “as a result of the billions of dollars secured by Senate Republicans, students and teachers will continue to have the resources they need to succeed and thrive.”

The union did not make an endorsement in the 2nd District race between Senate Majority Leader John Flanagan (R-East Northport) and Democrat Peter Magistrale; in the 5th District race between Sen. Carl Marcellino (R-Syosset) and Democrat James Gaughran; in the 6th District race between Sen. Kemp Hannon (R-Garden City) and Democrat Ryan Cronin; or in the 8th District race between Sen. Michael Venditto (R-Oyster Bay) and Democrat John Brooks.

“Candidates earning NYSUT’s endorsement this year have shown a willingness to listen to our members in public schools, colleges and hospitals,” said union President Karen Magee. “They value their relationships with our more than 600,000 politically active and energized members and champion their interests.”

Andrew Pallotta, executive vice president of the teachers union, said the group would provide campaign contributions and volunteers to assist the candidates they endorsed.

The full list of Long Island candidates endorsed by the union include:

U.S. Senate: Chuck Schumer

House of Representatives:

1st District: Anna Throne-Holst

2nd District: DuWayne Gregory

3rd District: Thomas Suozzi

4th District: no endorsement

5th District: Gregory Meeks

State Senate:

1st District: Kenneth LaValle

2nd District: no endorsement

3rd District: Tom Croci

4th District: Phil Boyle

5th District: no endorsement

6th District: no endorsement

7th District: Adam Haber

8th District: no endorsement

9th District: Todd Kaminsky

State Assembly

1st District: Fred Thiele Jr.

2nd District: Anthony Palumbo

3rd District: Dean Murray

4th District: Steve Englebright

5th District: Alfred Graf

6th District: Phil Ramos

7th District: Andrew Garbarino

8th District: Richard Macellaro

9th District: Joseph Saladino

10th District: Chad Lupinacci

11th District: Kimberly Jean-Pierre

12th District: Andrew Raia

13th District: Charles Lavine

14th District: David McDonough

15th District: Michael Montesano

16th District: Anthony D’Urso

17th District: Tom McKevitt

18th District: no endorsement

19th District: Edward Ra

20th District: Anthony Eramo

21st District: no endorsement

22nd District: Michaelle Solages

Latest Long Island News