Spin Cycle

News, views and commentary on Long Island, state and national politics.

Assemb. Robert Sweeney (D-Lindenhurst) notched the highest score of any Long Island state legislator in this year’s EPL / Environmental Advocates Report Card, while Sen. Lee Zeldin (R-Shirley) had the lowest.

Sweeney scored 95 out of 100, earning him one of two “Tip of the Hat” awards handed out by the activists. Citing Sweeney’s bill to curtail invasive species and one to mandate local reporting of accidental sewage spills, EPL called Sweeney the “go-to legislator for good environmental bills in the State Capitol.”

Zeldin earned a 28. Among other things, EPL bashed Zeldin for supporting a bill it says would clear the way for New York to enter long-term power-supply contracts with coal-fired power plants.

advertisement | advertise on newsday

Below are the scores for the Long Island delegation. As usual, Democrats scored higher than Republicans on the EPL report card, although there are exceptions, such as Assemb. Phil Boyle (R-Bay Shore), who recorded a 91.

Also, in general members of the Democrat-led Assembly scored higher than those of the Republican-controlled Senate.

Long Island delegation

Philip Boyle (R-Bay Shore) 91
James Conte (R-Huntington Station) INC
Brian Curran (R-Lynbrook) 75
Steven Englebright (D-Setauket) 91
Michael Fitzpatrick (R-St. James) 34
Alfred Graf (R-Holbrook) 49
Earlene Hooper (D-Hempstead) 88
Charles Lavine (D-Glen Core) 91
Daniel Losquadro (R-Shoreham) 50
David McDonough (R-Merrick) 60
Thomas McKevitt (R-East Meadow) 83
Michael Montesano (R-Glen Head) 61
L. Dean Murray (R-East Patchogue) 41
Edward Ra (R-Franklin Square) 77
Andrew Raia (R-Huntington) 71
Philip Ramos (D-Brentwood) 88
Joseph Saladino (R-Massapequa) 77
Michelle Schimel (D-Great Neck) 91
Robert Sweeney (D-Lindenhurst) 95
Fred Thiele Jr. (I-Sag Harbor) 91
Harvey Weisenberg (D-Long Beach) INC

John Flanagan (R-East Northport) 31
Charles Fuschillo Jr. (R-Merrick) 31
Kemp Hannon (R-Garden City) 31
Owen Johnson (R-West Babylon) 29
Kenneth LaValle (R-Port Jefferson) 62
Carl Marcellino (R-Syosset) 44
Jack Martins (R-Mineola) 32
Dean Skelos (R-Rockville Centre) 31
Lee Zeldin (R-Shirley) 28