Good Morning
Good Morning
Long IslandPolitics

Incumbent Garant wins Port Jefferson mayoral race

Mayor Margot Garant is re-elected in Port Jefferson.

Mayor Margot Garant is re-elected in Port Jefferson. Credit: Yellow House / Andrew Theodorakis

Port Jefferson Mayor Margot J. Garant on Tuesday fended off a challenge from former Suffolk County Republican chair John Jay LaValle to retain the post she has held for 10 years.

Garant won a sixth two-year term by defeating the former Brookhaven Town supervisor, 1,454-992, in unofficial tallies announced by Village Clerk Robert Juliano.

Garant's running mates, incumbent Trustee Stan Loucks and newcomer Kathianne Snaden, defeated challengers Tom Meehan and Tracy Stapleton, both of whom ran on a ticket with LaValle, for two open seats on the village board.

Garant said she was surprised by the margin of victory. She had promised to continue revitalization efforts in the village's Upper Port section while LaValle had criticized Garant for allowing downtown storefronts to go dark.

“I feel elated,” Garant said by telephone. “I’m just proud to serve another two years. I have a lot to do … I’m poised to bring it home and I’m proud to serve.

“I think the people of Port Jefferson know who’s been here and who’s here for the long term, and I thank them for their trust.”

LaValle said in a telephone interview that he accepted the results and wished Garant well in her new term. He didn't rule out running again for the seat.

“I’ve been on the top side of this business, I’ve been on the bottom side. I understand this is the possible result of an election,” said LaValle, who has appeared on television as a surrogate supporting President Donald Trump. ”The mayor ran an effective campaign making this a referendum on Donald Trump. That was the result. … That’s the will of the people. You always accept the will of the people.”

Voters in villages across Long Island went to the polls to pick mayors and trustees.

Here are results for contested races in other villages. All results are unofficial pending counts of absentee ballots.


Incumbent Richard Musto and challenger Caroline Engelhardt won two open trustee seats, defeating incumbent Judy Zaino, Village Clerk Joanne Raso said.


Mayor Ray Fell defeated challenger Bob Morris to win a new term.


Incumbents Patrick Fawcett and Thomas Zepf defeated challenger Reginald Ligonde for two trustee seats, Clerk-Treasurer Nicole Rhodes said. Each seat carries a two-year term. 


Incumbent Mayor Pedram Bral faced challenger James Wu.

Trustees Steven Hope and Anne Mendelson faced challenges from Julia Shields and Harold Citron for two open seats.

Results were not available at press time.


Mayor Charles Goulding defeated challenger Gina Weinberg.

Incumbent trustees Richard H. MacDougall and George J. Sheehan beat challengers Azad K. Anand and Elizabeth De Angelis for two open seats.


Trustee Jeff Koppelson and newcomer Tina Cioffi defeated challenger Felicia Chillak and incumbent John Richardson for two open seats.


The village has a new mayor as challenger Kathleen Mulcahy defeated incumbent Sandra Schroeder, 489-197, according to Clerk-Administrator Beth M. Kamper. Incumbent village Trustee Aidan Corish and newcomer Bob Plumb were both elected to two-year trustee terms, besting challengers Jennifer Ponzini and Silas Marder.

Latest Long Island News