56° Good Morning
56° Good Morning
Long Island

Races for fire commissioner decided across Long Island

North Patchogue fire commissioner candidate Daniel Dosher Jr., who was trying to unseat incumbent Lawrence Santangelo, lost by one vote Tuesday, and a commissioner’s race in Wading River was undecided because of a contested ballot, officials said Wednesday.

Dosher lost to Santangelo, 57-56, for a five-year term on the board. Dosher could not be reached for comment.

In Wading River, former commissioner Randy Hintze appeared to defeat another former commissioner, Michael Harrigan, 282-281, in a contest to complete the final year of an unexpired five-year term. The election was not certified because of a dispute over a vote that was not included in that tally, district manager Greg Michalakopoulos said.

Republican Suffolk County election commissioner Nick Lalota said Wednesday the issue was whether a voter legally resided in the district. He said the board would issue a recommendation but could not decide the election because the board has no jurisdiction over fire district votes.

Also in Wading River, a $6.8 million proposition on fire house improvements was defeated, 405-203.

In other fire district races:

Amagansett: Dwayne Denton defeated the incumbent, J. Kent Howie for a five-year term.

East Islip: Incumbent Thomas Drywa defeated Matthew Maroney for a five-year term. Eric Flynn defeated Jay Nieves for a four-year term. Leonard R. Najdek defeated Anthony DiSanti and Richard Fox for a three-year term.

Eatons Neck: Voters approved a referendum to extend the local Length of Service Award Program, or LOSAP, by 10 years.

Farmingville: Frederick Peabody defeated Alexander Wilson for a five-year term.

Gordon Heights: Commissioner Avery Dean defeated challenger Willie Gadson for a five-year term.

Lindenhurst Village: Two propositions — one amending LOSAP benefits and the other creating a contribution plan for new volunteers — passed.

Mattituck: Brian Williams defeated James Parsons for a five-year term.

Medford: Commissioner Charles Jagde won a new five-year term, defeating Richard Coleman.

Melville: Challenger Phillip Foundos unseated incumbent James T. Coschignano for a five-year term.

Port Jefferson: Thomas Meehan defeated Thomas Coyle for a five-year term.

Ridge: Incumbent Jeffrey Campo beat challenger Steve Vecchia for a five-year term.

Selden: Richard Cotty defeated Roderick Davidson.

Stony Brook: Incumbent Paul Degen defeated Ronald L. Gerry for a five-year term.

Terryville: Challenger Michael Dyroff unseated incumbent Salvatore Garafalo to win a five-year term.

Wading River: Commissioner John McManus retained his seat by defeating Tim Deveny for a new five-year term.

West Sayville-Oakdale: Michael Chiesa defeated Diane Setter and Jeffrey Walsh for a seat with a five-year term.

Inwood: Challenger Anthony Rivelli defeated incumbent Tom Havey for a five-year term.

Manhasset-Lakeville: Challenger Steven Flynn defeated incumbent Donald T. O’Brien for a three-year term.

South Farmingdale: John Collins defeated Paula Scavelli for the last two years of an unexpired term. Incumbent Thomas Mastakouris defeated Karen Sullivan for a five-year term.

CORRECTION: The winning candidate for Amagansett fire commissioner was incorrectly identified in a previous version of this story. Dwayne Denton defeated the incumbent, J. Kent Howie.


We're revamping our Comments section. Learn more and share your input.

Latest Long Island News