Good Afternoon
Good Afternoon
Long IslandSuffolk

Supervisor, town council races may reshape Suffolk landscape

Smithtown Councilman Edward Wehrheim, a Republican, won the

Smithtown Councilman Edward Wehrheim, a Republican, won the race for Smithown supervisor on Wednesday, Nov. 8, 2017.  Credit: Danielle Finkelstein

Five Suffolk towns elected new supervisors Tuesday in elections that reshaped the balance of power in Suffolk’s local municipalities.

In Huntington’s three-way supervisor race, state Assemb. Chad A. Lupinacci narrowly edged out Town Councilwoman Tracey A. Edwards and Michael A. Raspantini.

The vote signaled a “new direction and a message that change is needed,” Lupinacci said after the race.

In two East End towns, challengers ousted longtime incumbents from their supervisor posts.

In her second bid for office, Laura M. Jens-Smith defeated four-term Riverhead Supervisor Sean M. Walter.

Shelter Island hosted another upset, with Gary J. Gerth defeating incumbent James Dougherty.

The Smithtown contest featured no incumbent, with Councilman Edward R. Wehrheim defeating William G. Holst and Kristen Slevin.

Wehrheim will replace Patrick Vecchio, Long Island’s longest-serving supervisor, whom he defeated in the town’s Republican primary.

East Hampton Councilman Peter K. Van Scoyoc beat Manny Vilar in the race to replace Supervisor Larry Cantwell.

Other races saw incumbent supervisors winning decisively, such as Rich Schaffer in Babylon, Jay H. Schneiderman in Southampton and Edward P. Romaine in Brookhaven.

In other races:


Council member: Incumbent Antonio A. Martinez and Anthony N. Manetta were running unopposed.

Clerk: Geraldine L. Compitello was leading Kevin V. Sabella.


Council member:

(District 1): Incumbent Valerie M. Cartright was leading James Canale III

(District 2): Incumbent Jane E. Bonner was leading Michael S. Goodman.

(District 3): Incumbent Kevin J. La Valle was leading Alfred Ianacci.

(District 4): Incumbent Michael A. Loguercio Jr. was leading Daniel T. Polner

(District 5): Incumbent Neil Foley was leading Lisa Di Santo

(District 6): Incumbent Daniel J. Panico was leading Art Turkington.

Clerk: Incumbent Donna Lent was leading Cindy Morris

Superintendent of Highways: Incumbent Daniel P. Losquadro was leading Anthony R. Portesy


Town clerk: Incumbent Carole A. Brennan was unopposed

Superintendent of Highways: Incumbent Stephen K. Lynch was unopposed.

Council member: Jeffrey Bragman and incumbent Kathee Burke-Gonzalez were leading Paul A. Giardina, Gerard Larsen.

Town Justice: Incumbent Steven Tekulsky was unopposed

Assessor: Incumbent Eugene C. DePasquale was leading Tina S. Silverman.


Superintendent of Highways: Kevin S. Orelli was leading John H. Clark.

Council Member: Incumbent Mark A. Cuthbertson and James F. Leonick were leading Edmund J. Smyth and Emily S. Rogan


Council member: Incumbent Trish Bergin-Weichbrodt and James P. O’Connor were leading Samuel J. Gonzalez and Jason P. Fenley.


Council member: Catherine A. Kent and Jodi A. Giglio were leading Michele Lynch and Frank R. Beyrodt Jr.

Superintendent of Highways: Incumbent George Woodson ran unopposed.

Assessor: Incumbent Laverne Tennenberg was leading Susan D. Ambro.


Supervisor: Gary J. Gerth was leading incumbent James Dougherty

Town clerk: Incumbent Dorothy S. Ogar was running unopposed

Superintendent of Highways: Incumbent Jay L. Card Jr. was running unopposed

Council member: Incumbent Amber F. Brach-Williams and Marcus A. Kassik were leading Albert K. Dickson

Assessor: Incumbent Patricia A. Castoldi was running unopposed

Assessor: Craig Wood was running unopposed


Council member: Incumbents Thomas J. McCarthy and Lynne C. Nowick were leading Amy L. Fortunato, Patricia Stoddard, Robert P. Doyle and Thomas Lohmann.

Clerk: Incumbent Vincent A. Puleo was leading Justin W. Smiloff and Conrad A. Chayes Sr.

Superintendent of Highways: Incumbent Robert J. Murphy ran unopposed.


Town clerk: Incumbent Sundy A. Schermeyer was unopposed

Superintendent of Highways: Incumbent Alex. D. Gregor was leading Lance L. Aldrich.

Council member: Julie R. Lofstad and Thomas Schiavoni were leading Thea R. Fry and incumbent Stanley Glinka.


Clerk: Elizabeth Ann Neville ran unopposed.

Superintendent of Highways: Incumbent Vincent M. Orlando was leading Eugene L. Wesnofske III.

Council member: Incumbents James Dinizio Jr. and Robert Ghosio were leading Mary Eisenstein and Debra L. O’Kane.

Assessor: Charles J. Sanders and incumbent Kevin W. Webster were leading Damon P. Rallis.

Latest Long Island News