66° Good Evening
66° Good Evening
Long IslandSuffolk

Suffolk: Press Day winners

Lynbrook High’s Horizon editor-in-chief Erica DeMichiel was named

Lynbrook High’s Horizon editor-in-chief Erica DeMichiel was named “most outstanding reporter” in the recent Quill Awards competition at Adelphi University. Credit: Handout

Long Island's future journalists were recently recognized for their way with words during an awards ceremony at Adelphi University.

More than 200 teens from 30 schools in Nassau, Suffolk and Queens counties came together for Press Day 2013, an event that celebrates talents of high school journalists and provides them with an opportunity to connect with each other and with professionals in the field.

The day culminated with Quill Awards in 14 categories.

"The competition at this year's Quill Awards was very stiff," said Paul Thaler, chairman of Adelphi's Communications Department. "The submissions were outstanding across the board."

First-place winners were: The Rapier of Central Islip High, best page one layout; Hilltop Beacon of Roslyn High, best layout; Melissa Kalyoncu of Roslyn High, best illustration or cartoon; Skyler Kessler of Lynbrook High, best photograph; The Cove-er Times of Glen Cove High, best online newspaper; Julia Piraino of Farmingdale High, best arts review; Mohdshobair Hussaini of Freeport High, best sports story or column; Sabina Eck of St. Francis Preparatory School in Fresh Meadows, best editorial; Erica Galluscio of Valley Stream South High, best online writing; Jessica Allen of Bishop McGann-Mercy High in Riverhead, best opinion piece; Dan Wang of W. Tresper Clarke High in Westbury, best feature article; Joe Zappa of Massapequa High, best news article; Erica DeMichiel of Lynbrook High, most outstanding reporter; The Seraph of St. Francis Preparatory School in Fresh Meadows, most outstanding newspaper.



T-shirt design finalists

Northwest Elementary School pupils Darling Mejia-Reyes, Janae Sinclair and Axel Ruby were recently named finalists in the "What Makes U Smile" T-shirt design contest coordinated by clothing company Refuel. The contest received 45,000 entries, and winning designs were displayed in select store windows of Aeropostale.

In other news, Edmund W. Miles Middle School will host a viewing of some 50 panels created by its students over the past two decades for the AIDS Memorial Quilt. The display will be from 6 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. on June 6.

"Bringing the quilts back to Amityville will allow students to understand how the virus has impacted so hard on our community," Amityville health teacher Bernadette Kraljic said.



Physics semifinalists

Luran He, a junior at Ward Melville High School, was among 406 students nationwide recently named a semifinalist for the 2013 U.S. Physics Team by the American Association of Physics Teachers. More than 4,400 teens competed in the first exam phase earlier this year for 20 spots on the team.



BNL elementary fair

Seven Suffolk County students were first-place winners in various grade levels this month in Brookhaven National Lab's 2013 Elementary School Science Fair, which featured 500 projects from 114 local schools. It was judged by lab scientists, elementary teachers and Long Island Matrix of Science and Technology volunteers.

Winners were: Jenna Romito, a kindergartner at Forest Brook Elementary in Hauppauge; Luke Katona, a first-grader at West Middle Island Elementary; Kevin Koch, a second-grader at South Street Elementary in Manorville; Antonia Pavek, a third-grader at Tecumseh Elementary in Farmingville; Brendan Eising, a fourth-grader at John F. Kennedy Intermediate School in Deer Park; Arianna Rodichok, a fifth-grader at St. James Elementary; and Emily Phua, a sixth-grader at James Wilson Young Middle School in Bayport.



Scholarship winners

Fifty-two Long Island seniors were among 2,500 nationwide this month named winners of $2,500 scholarships by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. Selections were based on academic achievements and potential for college success, the organization said.

Suffolk winners were: Gabrielle Ewall of Cold Spring Harbor High; Tyler Fisher, Shreyas Havaldar, Helen Liu and Sachi Patil of Half Hollow Hills High East in Dix Hills; Sandhiya Kannan and Azaria Zornberg of Half Hollow Hills High West in Dix Hills; Mayuri Sridhar of Kings Park High; Minjia Chang of Miller Place High; and Rachel Gutman, Joanna Jin, Cathy Wang and Tracy Cui Wang of Ward Melville High in East Setauket.

Latest Long Island News