58° Good Afternoon
58° Good Afternoon
Long IslandTowns

Suffolk cops honored for DWI arrests

A group of 25 police officers who work in Suffolk County were honored Tuesday for making the highest number of driving-while-intoxicated arrests last year.

Suffolk County Police Commissioner Richard Dormer, along with officials from the Suffolk County Stop DWI Program, presented the officers with proclamations at a ceremony in Hauppauge.

Police Officer Timothy Murphy of the Riverhead Town Police Department recorded the most DWI arrests in 2010 with 86.

“Drunk driving is one of the deadliest crimes someone can commit,” Dormer said in a statement. “Law enforcement officers are the front line defense between the public and drunk drivers. Each time a police officer stops and arrests a drunk driver; the officer is preventing that person from causing injury or death to themselves or another.”

Award recipients included 10 Suffolk County police officers:
First Precinct: Derrick Hall
Second Precinct: James Berby and Ruboert Lubanski
Third Precinct: Ari Hirsch
Fourth Precinct: Douglas Nassisi
Fifth Precinct: Timothy Vicinanza
Sixth Precinct: John Bokinz
Seventh Precinct: Brandon Neal
Patrol Special Operations Team Officer Jeffrey Pitkewicz
SAFE-T (Selective Alcohol Fatality Enforcement Team) Officer Robert Mudzinski

Officers from 15 other agencies were also honored:
Amityville Village Police: David Smith
East Hampton Town Police: Vincent Rantinella
Northport Village Police: Alan Bakker
Quogue Village Police: John Galvin
Riverhead Town Police: Timothy Murphy
Sag Harbor Village Police: Thomas Pagano
Southampton Village Police: Ashley Jones
Town of Shelter Island Police: Christopher Drake
Town of Southampton Police: Joseph D’Arce
Town of Southold Police: Steven Zuhoski
Westhampton Beach Village Police: Steven McManus
Suffolk County Deputy Sheriff Robert Rilling
Suffolk County Parks Police: Gregory Sandbichler
New York State Parks Police: Justin Puckett
New York State Trooper Michael Mangano

Latest Long Island News