Good Afternoon
Good Afternoon
Long IslandTowns

Vecchio wins GOP primary in Smithtown

Declaring victory are, from left, Councilman Thomas McCarthy,

Declaring victory are, from left, Councilman Thomas McCarthy, Smithtown Supervisor Patrick Vecchio, Superintendent of Highways Glenn Jorgensen and Legis. Lynne C. Nowick at the Watermill Inn in Smithtown on Sept. 10, 2013. Credit: Joseph D. Sullivan

Smithtown Supervisor Patrick Vecchio won what he described as one of his toughest campaigns Tuesday, beating Robert J. Creighton in a key Republican primary.

The supervisor, appearing at Watermill Caterers in Smithtown, thanked supporters, saying, "It was a victory of the people. The victory is not so much mine as it is all of yours."

Vecchio said "this was the most scurrilous, most vile, most vilifying campaign ever."

Vecchio, who has been in 16 campaigns, said he thought there would have been "higher-minded proposals and words" from Creighton and his supporters, since Vecchio has "served this country, served 20 years in the police department and served this town for 36 years."

He also challenged John Jay LaValle, the Suffolk GOP chairman, and Suffolk Conservative chairman Edward Walsh to "stay out of Smithtown politics."

Vecchio, who has served more than three decades as Smithtown supervisor, is the longest-tenured town supervisor in Long Island history and needed to win the primary to appear on the November ballot. Creighton is a seven-year Smithtown councilman who is also a former chief investigator for the Suffolk County district attorney's office.

Creighton, who won in the Conservative Party primary over Linda Donnelly, conceded shortly after 10 p.m. at his West Main Street campaign headquarters.

"We ran a very good race," he told a throng. "We gave it the best shot we can do. We lost to a [longtime] incumbent . . . I really thought we could pull it off."

Creighton, who will still face Vecchio in November, has said he wants to "reinvigorate this town" by bringing in businesses and fixing poor infrastructure. Vecchio has said voters should re-elect him because of his commitment to "keeping a sound fiscal policy."

Steve Snair, the Democratic, Independence, and Working Families candidate, will also be on the ballot in November.

The supervisor race topped a busy primary season in Smithtown, where several key posts were contested.

Smithtown Councilman Thomas J. McCarthy and his ally Lynne C. Nowick won a Republican primary that also included Kevin J. Malloy. McCarthy and Malloy won a Conservative primary that included Kathleen DiBernardo.

Smithtown Superintendent of Highways Glenn Jorgensen beat Thomas D. McCarthy in a Conservative primary. Town Clerk Vincent Puleo bested Frances Kalabza in a Conservative primary.


Huntington also had a busy primary, which included several candidates competing for different lines.

In the most closely watched, Huntington Highway Superintendent William J. Naughton won a Democratic primary over Donald McKay and Kevin Orelli.

"Now I have to move onto the second part of the campaign," Naughton said.

He will face Republican, Conservative and Independence candidate Peter Gunther in November.

Town board member Gene Cook defeated Robert A. Lifson for the Republican town supervisor nod. Cook also beat Harold V. Acker on the Independence line for supervisor.

Supervisor Frank Petrone beat Valerie Stringfellow in the Working Families primary for the town's top elected post.

Town board member Mark Mayoka and Joshua Price won in a Republican primary with Mark Capodanno.

Fellow board member Mark Cuthbertson won a primary on the Working Families line, along with Tracey Edwards in a race that also included Richard Hall.


Angela M. DeVito defeated Ellen A. Cotten-deGrasse in a Democratic primary for town supervisor.

Riverhead town board members John J. Dunleavy Jr. and Jodi Giglio won a Republican primary. Giglio and Icilio Bianchi won the Independence primary for the same post.


Town board member Jane Bonner defeated Brian Lenz in a Republican primary.

Glen Cove

Seven candidates faced off on six Independence lines in Glen Cove's City Council race. Incumbent Anthony Gallo Jr. finished first in the field in a race that also included Kristina S. Heuser, Linda A. Darby, Charles A. Bozzello Jr., Pamela D. Panzenback, Martin F. Carmody and Efraim Spagnoletti. Carmody and Spagnoletti finished tied for the sixth and final spot.

Long Beach

City Council members Scott Mandel and Eileen Goggin faced Damian Walsh and Janna Jachniewicz on the Independence line. Jachniewicz, Walsh and Goggin led the way in a race in which voters picked three candidates.

Democrats Mandel, Goggin and newcomer Anthony Eramo will face Republican line-holders Walsh, Jachniewicz and Mike Franceschini for three seats in November's general election. In the city's judge primary, Theodore E. Hommel beat out incumbent Roy Tepper on the Independence line.


Recently appointed town clerk Nasrin Ahmad defeated Patricia A. Basso-Friedman in a Conservative primary.

With Carl MacGowan, Deborah S. Morris, Lauren R. Harrison and Mackenzie Issler

Latest Long Island News