Good Afternoon
Good Afternoon
Long IslandTowns

Voters go to polls Tuesday in 37 village elections

Voters cast ballots at the Lindell Elementary School

Voters cast ballots at the Lindell Elementary School in Long Beach. (Nov. 5, 2013) Credit: Newsday / J. Conrad Williams Jr.

Voters in more than three dozen villages across Long Island will cast ballots for village leaders on Tuesday, with 10 villages featuring contested races that highlight issues such as the budget, development and taxes.

Voters will choose between two candidates for mayor and four for two trustee seats in the village of Island Park, which is seeing its first contested election in more than two decades.

Glenn Ingoglia and Mike McGinty are facing off over the mayoral position vacated by the retirement of James Ruzicka, with the village's ruling Unity Party.

Ingoglia is running with fellow Voice Party candidates Columbia Ciccimarro and Laura Hassett, who are seeking two trustee seats. McGinty's slate includes Matthew Paccione and Joseph Annarella.

Munsey Park faces another contested race this year -- last year's battle for the board was the village's first contested race in 20 years.

Incumbent trustee Susan Auriemma and fellow Village Party candidate Eileen Cuneo face Residents for a Better Munsey Park incumbent trustee Jennifer Noone and candidate John Lippmann for two trustee seats.

Issues in that village include infrastructure and communication with residents.

Northport voters will choose between incumbent Mayor George Doll on the Pilot Party line and his challenger, Northport-East Northport school board member Joseph Sabia, who is running on the Citizens Party line.

The village has been saddled with the need to upgrade its aging sewage treatment plant, in addition to road repairs.

In Amityville, voters will decide whether to keep a three-member majority intact on the board by choosing between incumbent trustee Nick LaLota on the Amityville First Party line and challenger Wesley "Andy" Powell on the Amityville Union Party line to fill the remaining year of Deputy Mayor Peter Casserly's term.

Casserly resigned last March, prompting Mayor James Wandell to appoint LaLota.

Former Mastic Beach Mayor Paul Breschard will return to the ballot again, this time as a trustee candidate in the village. He resigned as mayor in 2012, midway through his first term.

Breschard, on the Founders Reform Party line, joins five other candidates -- incumbents Gail Cappiello and Robert Morrow on the A United Party line, Frank Fugarino on the Founders Reform Party line, and Bruce Summa and Maura Spery on the New Horizons Party line -- seeking two trustee seats.

Three candidates are seeking two trustee seats in Old Field -- Jeffrey B. Schnee on the Solar is Cool Party line, Robert E. Whitcomb on the Common Sense Party line and Timothy Hopkins on the Shamrock Party line -- while in Bellerose, three candidates, including two incumbents, are running for two trustee seats. Incumbents Margaret Hagan on the People's Party line and Kenneth Moore on the Green Party line and candidate and former mayor Donna Sherrer on the Community Party line are seeking those seats.

Two seats are also up for election in Stewart Manor, where Village Party line incumbents Mary C. Schafenberg and Orlando Sa, both of whom were appointed, face a challenge from William Grogan, who is running on the Independent Unity Party line.

Incumbent Judith Ogden and candidate Gordon Van Vechten, both running on the Village Party line, and candidate Theresa O'Brien on the Box Party line, are seeking two trustee seats in Head of the Harbor.

And in Farmingdale, incumbents Patricia A. Christiansen and Cheryl Parisi, both on the Green Leaf Party line, and candidate Craig Rosasco, on the Renaissance Party line, are running for two trustee seats.

Latest Long Island News