62° Good Morning
62° Good Morning
Hello, we've upgraded our systems.

Please log back in to enjoy your subscription. Thank you for being part of the Newsday family.

Forgot your password? We can help go here.

Log in
Long Island

Updated results from LI village elections

Voters cast their vote in the lobby of Amityville

Voters cast their vote in the lobby of Amityville High School on March 18, 2014. Credit: James Carbone

Challengers Maura Spery and Bruce Summa won a six-way race for village board in Mastic Beach in yesterday's village elections, upsetting incumbents Gail Cappiello and Bob Morrow.

Spery was the top vote-getter with 542 votes, and Summa had 522 votes. Both ran on the New Horizons Party line. Cappiello received 229 votes and Morrow 210. They ran on the A United Party line.

Summa, a hairstylist, said his and Spery's win represented a repudiation of what he described as "backdoor taxes," such as excessive ticketing -- and a demand for greater attention to quality-of-life issues such as litter on the streets.

Spery said the path forward starts with better marketing. "This is a fantastic opportunity to live in a waterfront community where you don't have to be a millionaire," she said.

Showcasing the area's natural beauty, she said, would pay dividends. "We'll see the 750 empty homes start to be occupied with first-time home buyers, young professionals, veterans, young families and people buying second, or vacation, homes."

Former Mayor Paul Breschard, making a comeback bid after resigning midway through his first term, received 436 votes. His running mate on the Founders Reform Party line, Frank Fugarino, had 421 votes.

Nine other villages across Long Island featured contested elections, including Island Park, where the Unity Party emerged victorious in the village's first contested election in 20 years.

Michael G. McGinty received 660 votes, to the Voice Party's Glenn Ingoglia's 382 votes in the mayoral race.

Matthew Paccione secured a seat on the board of trustees, receiving 612 votes, and incumbent trustee Joseph M. Annarella won re-election with 594 votes, beating Laura Risolo Hassett, who had 430 votes, and Columbia Ciccimarro, with 407 votes.

In Northport, voters gave eight-year incumbent Mayor George Doll another term. Doll received 1,162 votes, while challenger Joseph Sabia had 573.

In Munsey Park, the Residents for a Better Munsey Park candidates won both available trustee seats. Incumbent Jennifer Noone got 291 votes, while John Lippmann, on the same line, garnered 271. Village Party incumbent Susan Auriemma received 249 votes, while fellow Village Party candidate Eileen Cuneo had 218.

In Bellerose, incumbent trustees Margaret Hagan and Kenneth Moore were re-elected over former Mayor Donna Sherrer. Hagan received 194 votes, Moore 189, and Sherrer 112.

In Stewart Manor, William Grogan and Mary C. Schafenberg claimed the remaining one-year terms of two trustee seats. Grogan had 225 votes, Schafenberg 204, and challenger Orlando Sa received 134 votes.

In Old Field, Timothy Hopkins and Robert Whitcomb won two at-large trustee seats on the village board, with 107 votes and 84 votes respectively, according to the village clerk. The two defeated former trustee Jeffrey B. Schnee, who had 38 votes. In 1999, Schnee served the remaining eight months of a trustee's term after that trustee moved from the village.

In Amityville, incumbent Nick LaLota won over challenger Andy Powell for one trustee seat, said Village Clerk Diane Sheridan. LaLota had 1,146 votes, Powell had 1,064. "Voters have spoken for two years in a row. They want a management team to fix Amityville's finances," LaLota said.

In Farmingdale, Patricia A. Christiansen won with 503 votes, followed by Cheryl Parisi with 496. The two bested Craig Rosasco for two trustee seats. Rosasco had 397 votes.

In Head of the Harbor, four-year incumbent Judith Ogden and newcomer Gordon Van Vechten won trustee seats over newcomer Theresa O'Brien.

Van Vechten earned 163 votes, Ogden 133, and O'Brien 110, said Village Clerk Margaret O'Keefe. Ogden and Van Vechten ran as a team, along with Douglas A. Dahlgard, who ran unopposed for village mayor and won with 195 votes.

With Sophia Chang, Scott Eidler, Lauren R. Harrison

and Nicholas Spangler

Latest Long Island News