Good Evening
Good Evening
Long Island

Results in for 6 of 7 village elections held across Long Island

Voters in several Long Island villages headed to the polls Tuesday to decide contested races for mayor and trustee seats, with large turnout and ballot issues delaying results in Poquott and Great Neck.

Sag Harbor’s village board had two open trustee spots, and incumbent trustee Ken O’Donnell was re-elected to his third term with 238 votes. Challenger H. Aidan Corish won the second open trustee seat with 202 votes. Challenger Thomas C. Gardella received 197 votes. Mayor Sandra Schroeder ran unopposed and was re-elected with 276 votes.

In the Village of East Hampton, challenger Arthur S. Graham won a one-year trustee seat with 104 votes over incumbent Philip V. O’Connell, who had 74 votes and was appointed trustee last year.

In Brightwaters, two trustee seats were open. Thomas Zepf won one with 365 votes and former trustee John Valdini won the second seat with 325 votes. Challenger Gregory J. Proce received 315 votes. Valdini served on the board from 2009 to 2011.

In Woodsburgh, two trustee seats were open. Incumbent Jacob “Jake” Harman won re-election with 163 votes, as did incumbent Gary Goffner with 136 votes. Challenger Jeffrey Smith received 57 votes. Incumbent Mayor Lee Israel ran unopposed.

In Great Neck, high turnout prolonged voting two hours past the 9 p.m. poll closing with long lines at village hall. Incumbent Mayor Pedram Bral was re-elected to his second term with 983 votes while challenger Rebecca Gilliar received 505 votes. Incumbent trustees Annie Mendelson and Steven Hope were re-elected to the two open trustee seats — Mendelson received 1,002 votes and Hope received 1,003 votes. Challenger Adam Harel received 481 votes.

Voting issues delayed the returns process, according to Village Clerk Joe Gill. Numerous people were turned away from voting because they did not actually reside in Great Neck, he said. More than 30 voters could not be located on the Nassau County voter roll and subsequently filed petitions with Nassau County State Supreme Court on Tuesday night. “For an election, this is a pretty good turnout,” Gill said.

In Poquott, incumbent Jeff Koppelson and challenger John Richardson, a New York City firefighter, won two open trustee seats on the village board. Koppelson, who ran on the Continuity Party line, and Richardson, who ran on the Peace Party line, defeated incumbent Harold Berry and two challengers, Debbie Stevenson and Angie Parlatore.

The village had a “big turnout,” with more than 400 votes cast Tuesday night, said Poquott Village Clerk Joe Newfield. Of the roughly 89 absentee ballots that were submitted, 14 were tagged for follow-up with the Nassau County Board of Elections.

In Lawrence, a strong though ultimately unsuccessful campaign from write-in candidate J. L. “Larry” Kolodny brought drama to the race for two open trustee seats. Incumbents Michael A. Fragin and Daniel J. Goldstein won with 204 votes and 161 votes, respectively. Kolodny received 102 votes.

With Christine Chung, Christopher Cameron and Carl MacGowan

Latest Long Island News