Good Evening
Good Evening
NewsNew York

Cinderella story wraps with Cy honors for R.A. Dickey

R.A. Dickey #43 of the New York Mets

R.A. Dickey #43 of the New York Mets Credit: R.A. Dickey #43 of the New York Mets (Getty Imags)

After a remarkable season in which he finished first in the National League in strikeouts, second in wins and second in ERA, Mets starter R.A. Dickey was named the 2012 NL Cy Young Award winner.

The former journeyman became the first knuckleballer in history to win the award.

And it wasn't even close. Dickey received 27 first-place votes, and was listed second on the other five ballots. Clayton Kershaw was the only other pitcher to garner as many as two first-place selections.

Dickey was the first Met to take home the award since 1985, when Doc Gooden starred for the team a year before it won the World Series.

Dickey's end-of-season numbers (20-6, 2.73 ERA, 230 strikeouts) were impressive enough. Factor in his consecutive one-hitters on June 13 and 18, and the 11 consecutive decision he won from April 25 to July 19, and his season shines that much brighter.

Interestingly, Dickey led the league in strikeouts this year after he stated in his book "Wherever I Wind Up: My Quest for Truth, Authenticity and the Perfect Knuckleball" that he would never accomplish that feat.

In the American League, Tampa Bay Rays starter David Price became the franchise's first Cy Young Award winner.

Price had one more first place vote (14) and four more points (153) than 2011 winner Justin Verlander of the Detroit Tigers.

More news