58° Good Morning
58° Good Morning
NewsNew York

In surprise, Pulitzer drops breaking news award

Pulitzer medal

Pulitzer medal

It was news to journalists yesterday that there was no breaking news in 2010 —  or at least coverage worthy of a Pulitzer Prize.

The distinguished publishing award panel for reasons it wouldn’t expound on did not give out a prize in that category for the first time, leading to widespread grumbling.

But there was plenty of glee, though, in the newsrooms like that of The New York Times, which welcomed two Pulitzers — international reporting and commentary —  to its impressive collection. Here’s a selection of yesterday’s winners:  

The Los Angeles Times: the public service and feature photography awards

ProPublica: national reporting award

The Wall Street Journal:
editorial writing award

The Washington Post: breaking news photography award

The Sarasota Herald-Tribune: investigative reporting award

The Star-Ledger, Newark, N.J: feature writing award

Jennifer Egan:
fiction prize for "A Visit from the Goon Squad"

Bruce Norris:
drama award for "Clybourne Park"

Siddhartha Mukherjee: nonfiction prize for "The Emperor of All Maladies: A Biography of Cancer"


We're revamping our Comments section. Learn more and share your input.

More news