47° Good Evening
47° Good Evening
NewsNew York

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame names new class of inductees

gene simmons

gene simmons Credit: Gene Simmons of Kiss (Getty)

Nirvana and Kiss lead this year’s class of Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductees, with their celebration set to be the first ceremony open to the public in New York.

Also set to be inducted at the Barclays Center on April 10 are: Peter Gabriel, Daryl Hall and John Oates, Linda Ronstadt and Cat Stevens. The E Street Band will receive the Award for Musical Excellence, while Beatles manager Brian Epstein and original Rolling Stones manager Andrew Loog Oldham get the Ahmet Ertegun Award.

Nirvana — Kurt Cobain, Dave Grohl and Krist Novoselic — received the honor in its first year of eligibility, as its single “Love Buzz” arrived in 1988, before its breakthrough 1991 release “Nevermind.” Artists are eligible for induction 25 years after their first recording.

On the other hand, Kiss — Peter Criss, Ace Frehley, Gene Simmons and Paul Stanley — have been eligible for 15 years, a slight their fans have been angry about.

The E Street Band induction solves another long-argued issue, since they were not included when Bruce Springsteen was inducted in 1999.

Inducted in 2010 as part of Genesis, Gabriel will now be in twice<NO1>, after his selection as a solo artist, after his selection as a solo artist, with Ronstadt’s honor perhaps becoming more pressing after her recent revelation that she is battling Parkinson’s disease.

Hall and Oates have been eligible for 16 years, but their pop-friendly brand of Philly soul has only recently started to be given its due. “It was a bit of a surprise to me,” Hall told Rolling Stone. “I’ve always been sort of on the other side of the fence with the old guard and the powers that be. . .This whole new generation of people are looking at me and John in a different way.”

Nirvana’s Grohl said he was speechless. “From the basements, to the dingy clubs, to the broken down vans, to ... the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame,” he said.

The six artists were selected by artists and music industry experts from a list of 13 nominees, including Bay Shore native LL Cool J, who didn’t make the cut this year. The other nominees this year were: Paul Butterfield Band, Chic, Deep Purple, The Meters, N.W.A., and The Replacements.

Tickets will go on sale in January. HBO will air an edited version in May.

More news