Scattered Clouds 50° Good Afternoon
Scattered Clouds 50° Good Afternoon


Funny how one week can define a season. In the days

leading up to the Long Island football championships, undefeated East Meadow

enjoyed the admiration and support of an entire county.

But in the wake of a weekend that saw Lawrence slay defending Class II

champ Bellport and East Meadow fall short against defending champ Floyd for the

Class I crown, it was the Golden Tornado that saw its stock soar.

That twist of fate played out last night at the Nassau Football Coaches

Association Gridiron Dinner at the Crest Hollow Country Club in Woodbury.

Coaches cast their ballots for the Rutgers Cup, awarded each season to the

outstanding Nassau football team, and Lawrence came away the big winner.

Long Island Class II champ Lawrence (10-1) received 27 first-place votes

and totaled 117 points. Conference I winner East Meadow (10-1) took second with

19 first-place votes and 102 points. Long Island Class IV champ Roosevelt

(10-1) was third with three first-place votes and 70 points. Bethpage (9-2),

the Conference III winner, earned five points.

"It was a great year for Lawrence kids." Lawrence coach Lou Andre said.

"They are throwback guys and they respect the game of football."

Lawrence didn't emerge as a title contender until Week 6, outlasting Carey,

19-15. The Golden Tornado finished in a virtual tie for first place with

Garden City and earned the top seed in the playoffs. Andre followed up

impressive playoff wins over Elmont and Garden City with the upset of upsets,

knocking off Bellport, 28-27, to end its 21-game winning streak.

Lawrence wasn't the only big winner. Freeport running back / linebacker

Chris Edmond took home the Thorp Award as Nassau's best player. East Meadow

tackle John Elliott repeated as the Martone Award winner as the best lineman.

Wantagh's Anthony Polo captured the Piner Award as the best linebacker.

Lawrence's P.J. Preziosa earned the Don Snyder Award as the outstanding

quarterback. Lynbrook's Ryan Hantverk garnered the Dragon Award as the best


Rutgers Cup

The Rutgers Cup is presented by the Rutgers Club of Long Island to the

outstanding football team of the year in Nassau. A list of the winners since


2006 Lawrence

2005 Garden City

2004 Roosevelt

2003 Freeport

2002 Bethpage

2001 Wantagh

2000 Freeport

For a complete list of winners, visit

More news