Excellence repeated.

Floyd (11-0) garnered 50 of the 52 first-place votes and totaled 154 points

to win the coveted Rutgers Trophy for the second year in a row at the Suffolk

County Fall Coaches Association awards dinner Wyndham Wind Watch hotel in


It is the seventh time in the 60 years of the award that a school has

earned the trophy in back-to-back seasons. The Colonials finished the season

with Long Island's longest current winning streak at 22 games.

Floyd is also the only playoff team in Suffolk history to go undefeated in

consecutive seasons. The Colonials march to the second straight Long Island

advertisement | advertise on newsday

Class I championship went through two very tough opponents in Longwood and


Bellport (10-1), earned 83 points, and finished second in the voting.

Sayville (9-2), the Long Island Class III champion, was third with 61 points.

"It is an extreme honor to be recognized by the coaches in the county,"

said Floyd coach Paul Longo, who also earned the coach of the year honors. "It

also speaks volumes for the effort and the focus that our coaches and players

have put into the this program over the years."

Rutgers Trophy

The Rutgers Trophy is presented by the Rutgers Club of Long Island to the

advertisement | advertise on newsday

season's outstanding football team in Suffolk. Here is a list of the winners

since 2000:

2006 Floyd

2005 Floyd

2004 Sayville

advertisement | advertise on newsday

2003 Riverhead

2002 North Babylon

2001 Bellport

2000 Amityville

For a complete list, visit