70° Good Afternoon
70° Good Afternoon

Spielman leads College Hall of Fame class of 2010

SOUTH BEND, Ind. - Tim Brown struck the Heisman Trophy pose on stage at the urging of a fan after putting on his new College Football Hall of Fame blazer, then moments later, Steve McMichael playfully rushed past master of ceremonies Mark May like he was about to chase down a quarterback.

Both drew appreciative cheers from the crowd gathered for a rally to see the 24 former players and coaches who were being enshrined yesterday. The biggest cheer, though, was for Chris Spielman, with nearly 100 people in the crowd wearing his No. 36 Ohio State shirt.

"This is how we do it at Ohio State," Spielman said to another loud cheer.

Even former Southern California coach John Robinson drew applause despite being in the backyard of rival Notre Dame.

"It's nice to be in South Bend and not get booed," Robinson told the crowd.

Among the others being honored were former Miami QB Gino Torretta, who won the Heisman in 1992; Penn State RB Curt Warner; West Virginia QB Major Harris; and Syracuse coach Dick MacPherson.

Those being honored found out in April 2009 they were going into the hall and were inducted into it during a ceremony in New York last December. The event in South Bend was the final step in the process.

Others being enshrined were: New Mexico State halfback Pervis Atkins; Maryland-Eastern Shore halfback Emerson Boozer; Marshall WR Troy Brown; Arizona DB Chuck Cecil; Auburn fullback Ed Dyas; BYU TE Gordon Hudson; Cal Lutheran LB Brian Kelley; Harvard center William Lewis; Alabama LB Woodrow Lowe; Stanford receiver Ken Margerum; UMass TE Milt Morin; Iowa LB Larry Station; Georgia Tech DE Pat Swilling; Nebraska DE Grant Wistrom; Willie Jeffries, coach; and Ted Kessinger, coach.


We're revamping our Comments section. Learn more and share your input.

More news