Good Evening
Good Evening

Derek Jeter headlines 2020 Baseball Hall of Fame ballot

Derek Jeter in 2006.

Derek Jeter in 2006. Credit: NEWSDAY/Kathy Kmonicek

Derek Jeter is among 18 newcomers on the 2020 Hall of Fame ballot. He likely will be an overwhelming choice to join former Yankees teammate Mariano Rivera in Cooperstown after the reliever last year became the first unanimous pick by the Baseball Writers' Association of America.

A 14-time All-Star shortstop and five-time World Series champion, Jeter hit .310 with 3,465 hits in 20 seasons and was the 1996 AL Rookie of the Year. He has been CEO of the Miami Marlins the past two seasons.

Other newcomers announced Monday by the BBWAA include Cliff Lee, Josh Beckett, Jason Giambi, Paul Konerko, Rafael Furcal, Bobby Abreu and Alfonso Soriano.

Holdovers include Curt Schilling, who received 60.9% last year, Roger Clemens (59.5%), Barry Bonds (59.1%) and Larry Walker (54.6%). Schilling rose from 51.2% in 2018. Walker, on the ballot for his 10th and final time this year, increased from 34.1% in 2018.

Bonds and Clemens, whose candidacies have been tainted by allegations of steroids use, are both on for the eighth time. Clemens rose from 57.3% in 2018 and Bonds from 56.4%.

Ballots are sent to more than 400 BBWAA members with at least 10 consecutive years in the organization, and a player must appear on at least 75 percent to gain election. Ballots must be mailed by Dec. 31, and results will be announced Jan. 21.

Anyone elected will be inducted July 26 along with any selections by the Hall's modern era committee, which meets and votes at San Diego on Dec. 8.

Players remain on the ballot for up to 10 years, provided they receive at least 5 percent of the vote annually.

Roy Halladay, Edgar Martinez and Mike Mussina were elected along with Rivera in the 2019 BBWAA vote.

The ballot:

Bobby Abreu

Josh Beckett

Heath Bell

Barry Bonds

Eric Chávez

Roger Clemens

Adam Dunn

Chone Figgins

Rafael Furcal

Jason Giambi

Todd Helton

Raúl Ibañez

Derek Jeter

Andruw Jones

Jeff Kent

Paul Konerko

Cliff Lee

Carlos Peña

Brad Penny

Andy Pettitte

J.J. Putz

Manny Ramírez

Brian Roberts

Scott Rolen

Curt Schilling

Gary Sheffield

Alfonso Soriano

Sammy Sosa

José Valverde

Omar Vizquel

Billy Wagner

Larry Walker

New York Sports