Good Evening
Good Evening

Derek Jeter, Robinson Cano win Silver Slugger Awards

Derek Jeter and Robinson Cano take the field

Derek Jeter and Robinson Cano take the field before Game 1 of the ALCS. (Oct. 13, 2012) Credit: Jim McIsaac

Robinson Cano and Derek Jeter won American League Silver Slugger Awards for being the top offensive players at their position.

It was the third straight and fourth overall for Cano. Jeter won for the fifth time. He had previously won from 2006-2009.

Cano hit .313 with a career-high 33 home runs. He also drove in 94 RBIs and scored 105 runs. Cano went on a tear his last nine games of the year to improve his average from an un-Cano-like .296.

At 38, Jeter continue to prove doubters wrong. He jumped back above the .300 mark for the first time since 2009, hitting .316 on the year. Jeter also slugged 15 home runs and scored 99 runs.

Here's a full list of the Silver Slugger Award winners in both leagues.

American League

Catcher: A.J. Pierzynski, Chicago White Sox

First base: Prince Fielder, Detroit Tigers

Second base: Robinson Cano, Yankees

Third base: Miguel Cabrera, Detroit Tigers

Shortstop: Derek Jeter, Yankees

Outfield: Josh Hamilton, Texas Rangers; Mike Trout, Los Angeles Angels; Josh Willingham, Minnesota Twins

Designated hitter: Billy Butler, Kansas City Royals


National League

Catcher: Buster Posey, San Francisco Giants

First base: Adam LaRoche, Washington Nationals

Second base: Aaron Hill, Arizona Diamondbacks

Third base: Chase Headley, San Diego Padres

Shortstop: Ian Desmond, Washington Nationals

Outfield: Ryan Braun, Milwaukee Brewers; Jay Bruce, Cincinnati Reds; Andrew McCutchen, Pittsburgh Pirates

Pitcher: Stephen Strasburg, Washington Nationals

New York Sports