63° Good Morning
63° Good Morning
Hello, we've upgraded our systems.

Please log back in to enjoy your subscription. Thank you for being part of the Newsday family.

Forgot your password? We can help go here.

Log in

George Steinbrenner denied Hall of Fame spot again

Former baseball commissioner Bud Selig was voted into

Former baseball commissioner Bud Selig was voted into the Hall of Fame on Sunday night. Credit: AP / Morry Gash

NATIONAL HARBOR, Md. — The Boss still can’t get into Cooperstown.

For a third time, George Steinbrenner was denied a spot in the Hall of Fame when the Today’s Game Era committee, a 16-member panel, announced Sunday night that only former commissioner Bud Selig and Braves executive John Schuerholz had received the votes necessary to be inducted July 30.

Schuerholz, the architect of a Braves dynasty that spanned 14 consecutive division titles but only one World Series crown, was a unanimous selection by the panel composed of Hall of Famers, baseball executives and media members.

Selig collected 15 votes. Steinbrenner, who also fell short in 2010 and 2013, joined former Mets manager Davey Johnson in a group that earned fewer than five votes this time around.

New York Sports