Good Morning
Good Morning

Derek Jeter's original hit that tied Honus Wagner for sixth all time now ruled an error

Derek Jeter of the Yankees follows through on

Derek Jeter of the Yankees follows through on a first-inning base hit against the Cleveland Indians at Yankee Stadium on Friday, Aug. 8, 2014. At the time, the hit was Jeter's 3,430th, tying him for sixth all time with Honus Wagner, but it was reversed to an error on Tuesday, Aug. 19, 2014.. Credit: Jim McIsaac

Remember when Derek Jeter tied Honus Wagner for sixth place on the all-time hits list with an infield single against Cleveland on Aug. 8?

Well, turns out it never happened.

Major League Baseball -- in the person of Joe Torre, Jeter's former manager with the Yankees -- Tuesday reversed the official scorer's call that gave Jeter what was at the time his 3,430th hit.

Acting on a request from Indians pitcher Trevor Bauer, MLB executive vice president Torre changed the scoring on the play to an error on first baseman Carlos Santana.

On Aug. 8, official scorer David Freeman ruled the first-inning play at Yankee Stadium a single. It was a bouncer up the middle that Indians shortstop Jose Ramirez fielded behind second base. After a spin, Ramirez threw accurately to first, but Santana dropped it. Replays indicated Jeter would have been out had Santana caught the throw.

The Yankees went on to score five runs in the inning. Because of the scoring change, two earned runs have been removed from the record of Bauer, a 23-year-old righthander. Bauer's ERA drops from 4.35 to 4.18.

Asked why the Indians requested the scoring review, team director of media relations Bart Swain wrote in an email: "It was requested by the player, Trevor Bauer. He requested it because he thought the play should have been ruled an error."

Replays of the at-bat show Bauer with a disappointed look on his face after the misplay.

With the ruling, Jeter went into Tuesday night's game against Houston with 3,435 hits.

The retiring Yankees captain originally was credited with passing Wagner with an infield single against the Indians on Aug. 9 -- a dribbler that Cleveland third baseman Lonnie Chisenhall tried and failed to make a barehanded play on.

Now that is officially the hit that tied Wagner.

And what was thought to be a tack-on double from Aug. 11 against the Orioles in Baltimore is now officially the hit that gave Jeter sole possession of sixth place.

Since things always work out for Jeter, don't worry: He has possession of all three baseballs. Yankees trainer Steve Donohue kept them all in case of just an eventuality.

As you might imagine, Jeter found the whole thing amusing.

"So there's no story," Jeter said. "I got another hit. I got the other ball. If it was the last hit I ever got, then it'd be a story."

Torre, through an MLB official, declined to comment.

"You guys thought I was going to bash Mr. T. because he makes the decision," Jeter said, referring to Torre by a nickname only Jeter calls him.

Jeter, asked if he thought the Aug. 8 play should have been a hit or error, said: "I don't know. I'm not watching. I'm really not one that I'm going back to look at replays, hits or not hits."

New York Sports