56° Good Morning
56° Good Morning

Jamal Crawford is 1st 3-time NBA Sixth Man Award winner

Los Angeles Clippers guard Jamal Crawford (11)

Los Angeles Clippers guard Jamal Crawford (11) celebrates as he leaves the court following the team's win over the Utah Jazz on Friday, April 8, 2016, in Salt Lake City. The Clippers won 102-99 in overtime. Credit: AP / Rick Bowmer

Los Angeles Clippers guard Jamal Crawford has won the Sixth Man Award, becoming the first three-time winner as the NBA’s best reserve.

Crawford received 51 first-place votes and 341 points Tuesday from a panel of 130 sports writers and broadcasters in the U.S. and Canada. NBA Finals MVP Andre Iguodala of Golden State was second with 288 points (33 first-place votes), and Oklahoma City’s Enes Kanter finished third with 182 points (19 first-place votes).

Crawford averaged 14.2 points in 79 games, coming off the bench in 74. He ranked second in the NBA in free throw percentage at 90.4 percent.

The 16-year veteran added this win to his awards in 2009-2010 with Atlanta and 2013-14 with the Clippers.

Kevin McHale, Ricky Pierce and Detlef Schrempf all won the Sixth Man Award twice. Crawford is the only player to win with multiple teams.

New York Sports