88° Good Evening
88° Good Evening

Reynolds, Harangody head All-Big East first team

PROVIDENCE - Scottie Reynolds of Villanova was the lone unanimous selection to the All-Big East first team Sunday, and Luke Harangody of Notre Dame won the honor for the third straight season.

Reynolds, a 6-2 senior guard, led the Wildcats in scoring (18.8), but it was his penchant for second-half heroics that kept Villanova in the top 10 all season.

The 6-8 Harangody led the conference in scoring (23.3) and was third in rebounding (9.7). He missed five games with a knee injury, but returned Saturday and scored five points in 11 minutes in an overtime win against Marquette.

Also on the six-man first team were senior Da'Sean Butler of West Virginia, juniors Dominique Jones of South Florida, Wes Johnson of Syracuse, and sophomore Greg Monroe of Georgetown.

The conference player of the year, which will be announced Tuesday, will come from the first team.

Last season, Harangody became the first player in Big East history to lead the conference in scoring and rebounding in consecutive seasons. He enters the Big East Tournament 77 points from passing Syracuse's Lawrence Moten as the league's all-time leading scorer.

He is the 11th player to be selected to the first team for three straight years and the first since Troy Bell of Boston College from 2001-03.

Butler, a second-team choice last season, led the Mountaineers in scoring (17.2) and rebounding (6.3).

Jones led the conference in scoring (23.2) and led the Bulls to their best season ever. South Florida, which joined the Big East in 2005-06, finished 9-9 in league play this season after never having won more than four conference games in a season.

Johnson, a transfer from Iowa State, led the Orange in scoring (15.7) and rebounding (8.5) as Syracuse won the regular-season title and reached No. 1 in the polls for the first time since 1990.

Monroe, the rookie of the year last season, was second on the Hoyas in scoring (16.0) and his 9.6 rebounds were fourth in the conference.

The second team was seniors Lazar Hayward of Marquette and Andy Rautins of Syracuse, juniors Austin Freeman of Georgetown and Jeremy Hazell of Seton Hall, and sophomore Ashton Gibbs of Pittsburgh.

The third team was senior Jerome Dyson of Connecticut, junior Corey Fisher of Villanova and sophomores Kemba Walker of Connecticut, Samardo Samuels of Louisville and Devin Ebanks of West Virginia.

Lance Stephenson of Cincinnati and Dane Miller of Rutgers were unanimous selections to the six-man all-rookie team and were joined by Alex Oriakhi of Connecticut, Vincent Council of Providence, Brandon Triche of Syracuse and Maalik Wayns of Villanova.

- AP


We're revamping our Comments section. Learn more and share your input.

New York Sports