63° Good Morning
63° Good Morning

BWAA names Martinez fighter of the year

The Boxing Writers Association of America has named Sergio Martinez its fighter of the year, it was announced yesterday.

2010 started off with a bang for Martinez, who beat Kelly Pavlik for the WBC and WBO middleweight title. He followed that up with a one-punch knockout of Paul Williams.

He's the first Argentinian boxer to win the award since Carlos Monzon in 1972.

Freddie Roach was named "Trainer of the Year" for the third year in a row and fifth time overall. The award has always had special meaning for Roach as it is named after his mentor Eddie Futch.

Amir Khan was pushed to the limit in winning a unanimous 12-round decision over Marcos Maidana. The intensity and fury of that contest earned both men the "Ali - Frazier" award for "Fight of the Year."

Jack Obermayer was given the "Condon" award for "Long and Meritorious Service" to the sport.

The "Marvin Kohn Good Guy" award went to Bill Caplan. A long-time publicist for George Foreman, Caplan currently works in that capacity for Golden Boy Promotions.

Robert Guerrero had put his career on hold to deal with his wife Lisa's health issues. With her Leukemia in remission, Guerrero made a successful return to the ring. How he coped with the situation impressed the BWAA electorate who voted him the "Crawford" award for "Courage in Overcoming Adversity."

Micky Ward won the "James A. Farley" award for "Honesty and Integrity," and Steve Farhood the "Fleischer" award for "Excellence in Boxing Journalism."

All award winners will be honored at the BWAA's 86th annual dinner, tentatively set for May 6, 2011 in Las Vegas.


We're revamping our Comments section. Learn more and share your input.

New York Sports