54° Good Afternoon
54° Good Afternoon

Mike Tyson, Julio Cesar Chavez leads Hall of Fame Candidates

It’s that time of year again in the world of boxing.

The International Boxing Hall of Fame sent out its yearly hall of fame electoral ballots to voters last week. Some of the names won’t jump off the page at you. But several will. As is the case with hall of fame voting in any sport, it’s a judgement call with many of the candidates.

Some have gaudy records and big-time knockout totals. But that alone doesn’t make a boxer eligible. Level of competition, championship bouts, where the bouts were fought, the era, etc… are all part of the criteria.

The list below contains the 45 candidates on the ballot. Voters (present company included) can select up to 10 candidates. Only three will be selected.

Georgia Abrams, Horacio Accavallo, Joey Archer, Jose Becerra, Johnny Bratton, Jimmy Carruthers, Julio Cesar Chavez, Donald Curry, Hiroyuki Ebihara, Tommy Farr, Tiger Jack Fox, Ceferino Garcia, Betulio Gonzalez, Yoko Gushiken, Naseem Hamed, Carlos Hernandez, Rafael Herrera, Al Hostak, Harry Jeffra, Peter Kane, Cocoa Kid, Pone Kingpetch, Santos Laciar, Tippy Larkin, Jose Legra, Miguel (Happy) Lora, Raul (Raton) Macias, Ernesto Marcel, Freddie Mills, Rinty Monaghan, Masao Ohba, Sven Ottke, Ken Overlin, Gustave Roth, Lou Salica, Dave Sands, Petey Scalzo, Samuel Serrano, Yoshio Shirai, Kostya Tszyu, Kid Tunero, Mike Tyson, Wilfredo Vazquez, Myung-Woo Yuh, Hilario Zapata.

Obviously Mike Tyson, Julio Cesar Chavez and Kostya Tszyu will get heavy consideration. Inductees will be announced at a press conference in early December. The official induction ceremony will take place at the International Boxing Hall of Fame in Canastota, NY on June 12.


We're revamping our Comments section. Learn more and share your input.

New York Sports