53° Good Morning
53° Good Morning

Vegas Hall of Fame announces class

Newsday file photo from the Joe Frazier-Muhammad Ali

Newsday file photo from the Joe Frazier-Muhammad Ali fight on March 8, 1971. This punch by Frazier set up a left hook that knocked Ali down. Photo Credit: Newsday / Morseman

Another boxing Hall of Fame has opened. This one in Las Vegas. Here's information from a press release about the hall itself and the inaugural class. Las Vegas, June 28, 2013 - The new Boxing Hall of Fame Las Vegas has announced its inaugural class of 25 inductees

The Boxing Hall of Fame Las Vegas is located at the Luxor Hotel within SCORE! - a multi-sports attraction featuring the Halls of Fame of Football, Basketball, Hockey, Soccer, Baseball, NASCAR and Boxing.

The exhibit features the exclusive ESPN Classic/Cayton Sports Fight Film Library. The collection includes the fights of Muhammad Ali, Joe Frazier, Roberto Duran, Sugar Ray Leonard, Jack Dempsey, Rocky Marciano and many other legendary fighters from the first heavyweight championship fight ever filmed in 1897 through the fights of Mike Tyson and beyond.  The video library also contains countless interviews as well as exclusive training footage.

The inaugural class of 25 inductees are as follows in alphabetical order:  Muhammad Ali, Henry Armstrong, Tony Canzoneri, Ezzard Charles, Julio Cesar Chavez, Jack Dempsey, Roberto Duran, Joe Gans, Harry Greb, Eder Jofre, Jack Johnson, Stanley Ketchel, Sam Langford, Benny Leonard, Sugar Ray Leonard, Joe Louis, Rocky Marciano, Archie Moore, Willie Pep, Sugar Ray Robinson, Barney Ross, Sandy Saddler, John L. Sullivan, Gene Tunney and Mickey Walker.  While only boxers are inducted, other participants in the sweet science will receive awards and be acknowledged for their excellence at the Black Tie Induction Event on a date to be announced shortly.

The Board of Directors consists of Steve Lott, Tony Triem and Shelley Williams.

The Advisory Board is comprised of the following prominent boxing historians and journalists:  Tracy Callis, Jim Carlin, Don Cogswell, Dan Cuoco, Bernard Fernandez, Jeff Flanagan, Phil Guarnieri, Henry Hascup, Jack Hirsch, JJ Johnston, Bruce Kielty, Gordon Marino, Carole Myer, Sal Rappa, Neil Terens and Jim Trunzo.


We're revamping our Comments section. Learn more and share your input.

New York Sports