34° Good Morning
34° Good Morning

Auburn's Cam Newton sweeps awards

Auburn star quarterback Cam Newton -- the overwhelming favorite to win the Heisman Trophy on Saturday night in New York -- stopped off in Orlando on Thursday and took home three major awards.

Newton won the Maxwell Award, given to college football's outstanding player, the Walter Camp Award, presented to the player of the year, and the Davey O'Brien Award, which goes to the nation's top quarterback.

Newton, who has had one of the greatest seasons in recent memory, will likely add the Heisman to his trophy case on Saturday night.

Other award winners:

Home Depot Award (Coach of the Year)
Gene Chizik, Auburn

Doak Walker Award (Top running back)
LaMichael James, Oregon

Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award (Top senior quarterback)
Scott Tolzien, Wisconsin

Fred Biletnikoff Award (Top wide receiver)
Justin Blackmon, Oklahoma State

John Mackey Award (Top tight end)
D.J. Williams, Arkansas

Outland Trophy (Top interior lineman)
Gabe Carimi, Wisconsin

Vince Lombardi/Rotary Award (Top lineman)
Nick Fairley, Auburn

Rimington Award (Top center)
Jake Kirkpatrick, TCU

Chuck Bednarik Award (Defensive player of the year)
Patrick Peterson, LSU

Bronco Nagurski Award (Defensive player of the year)
Da'Quan Bowers, Clemson

Dick Butkus Award (Top linebacker)
Von Miller, Texas A&M

Jim Thorpe Award (Top defensive back)
Patrick Peterson, LSU

Lou Groza Award (Top kicker)
Dan Bailey, Oklahoma State

Ray Guy Award (Top punter)
Chas Henry, Florida

Ted Hendricks Award (Top defensive end)
Da'Quan Bowers, Clemson

New York Sports