52° Good Morning
52° Good Morning

Baylor's Robert Griffin III wins Heisman Trophy

Robert Griffin III #10 of the Baylor Bears

Robert Griffin III #10 of the Baylor Bears looks to pass during a game against the Texas Longhorns at Floyd Casey Stadium. (Dec. 3, 2011) Credit: Getty Images

Baylor quarterback Robert Griffin III won the 2011 Heisman Trophy Saturday night in New York City.

Griffin beat out Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck, who finished as the runner-up for the second straight year. Luck lost to Auburn quarterback Cam Newton in 2010. As colleague Greg Logan points out on Twitter, Luck is fourth two-time Heisman runner-up, joining Army's Glenn Davis, North Carolina's Charles Justice and Darren McFadden of Arkansas. Davis won the Heisman in 1946.

Griffin won the 77th Heisman Trophy with 1,687 total points, including 405 first-place votes.

Luck was second with 1,407 points.

Alabama running back Trent Richardson was third, followed by Wisconsin running back Montee Ball and LSU defensive back Tyrann Mathieu.

Griffin is the first Baylor player to win the Heisman. The junior finished the regular season with 3,998 yards, 36 touchdowns and a 72.4 completion percentage. His passer rating is 192.3.

Griffin became a serious contender to win the Heisman with big-time performances late in the season. He threw for 479 yards and four touchdowns in a win over Oklahoma on Nov. 19. He led Baylor on the game-winning drive in the final seconds against the Sooners on national television. Last weekend, Griffin threw for 320 yards and accounted for four touchdowns (two rushing and two passing) in a win over Texas. That was key because Luck and Richardson did not play last weekend since their respective teams' regular seasons had ended.

New York Sports