29° Good Evening
29° Good Evening

Big Ten breaks into 'Leaders' and 'Legends'

The Big Ten Conference announced plenty today.

First, the conference has a new logo. Also, the conference announced the creation of 18 trophies to "honor coaches, teams and student-athletes" beginning with the 2011 season.

The 2011 season will be the debut of the Big Ten championship game. The winner of that game will be awarded the Stagg-Paterno Championship Trophy, named for Amos Alonzo Stagg and Joe Paterno.

The complete list of the awards is here.

With Nebraska joining the Big Ten for the 2011 season, the 12 conference teams will be split into two divisions. The names? The "Leaders" division and "Legends" division.

Leaders: Illinois, Indiana, Ohio State, Penn State, Purdue, Wisconsin
Legends: Iowa, Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Nebraska, Northwestern

New York Sports