Good Morning
Good Morning
SportsCollegeCollege Basketball

AP Announces all-american squad

The Associated Press announced its All-American team early Monday.

Jimmer Fredette of BYU, Duke's Nolan Smith, JaJuan Johnson of Purdue, Kemba Walker of Connecticut and Ohio State super freshman Jared Sullinger made up the first team.

The AP panel is made up of 65 members of the national media.

Fredette was the top vote-getter with 64. Smith got 61 votes, Sullinger received 58, Walker 51, while Johnson ended up 44.

Now can someone explain why Walker only got 51 points. And which voter didn't give Fredette the nod for the first team. Fredette and Walker carried their teams like no one else.

Walker was especially the be all, end all for the Huskies the first half of the season. With so many freshmen and sophomores in the lineup, Walker did the heavy lifting almost every game early on.

Fredette had to carry the load late after the suspension of Brandon Davies.

The second team included Marcus Morris of Kansas, Arizona's Derrick Williams, Ben Hansbrough of Notre Dame, Jordan Taylor of Wisconsin and San Diego State's Kawhi Leonard.

If there was one person who was noticeably absent it was North Carolina freshman Harrison Barnes. Barnes was a preseason All-American.

New York Sports