62° Good Afternoon
62° Good Afternoon
SportsCollegeCollege Basketball

Maryland coach Gary Williams retires

Another major college basketball job opened up Thursday after longtime Maryland Terrapins coach Gary Williams announced his retirement. The school will hold a press conference on Friday.

Williams, who won 461 games in 22 years at Maryland, led the Terrapins to the 2002 national championship and a Final Four appearance in 2001. Williams is 668-380 in 33 seasons as a head coach.

Maryland finished the 2010-2011 season 19-14.

"It's the right time," Williams said in a statement. "My entire career has been an unbelievable blessing. I am fiercely proud of the program we have built here. I couldn't have asked any more from my players, my assistant coaches, the great Maryland fans and this great university. Together, we did something very special here."

Williams will stay at the school as assistant athletic director and special assistant to AD Kevin Anderson

The list below contains all NCAA coaching moves with successors in parenthesis.

Alabama A&M – Vann Pettaway
Alcorn State – Larry Smith (Luther Riley)
Arkansas – John Pelphrey (Mike Anderson)
Bradley – Jim Les (Geno Ford)
Cal State Bakersfield – Keith Brown (Rod Barnes)
Colgate – Emmett Davis - (Matt Langel)
Dayton – Brian Gregory (Archie Miller)
Eastern Michigan – Charles Ramsey (Rob Murphy)
Eastern Washington – Kirk Earlywine (Jim Hayford)
Fairfield – Ed Cooley (Sydney Johnson)
Florida A&M – Eugene Harris
Florida Golf Coast – Dave Balza (Andy Enfield)
Fresno State – Steve Cleveland (Rodney Terry)
George Mason - Jim Larranaga (Paul Hewitt)
George Washington - Karl Hobbs
Georgia State – Rod Barnes (Ron Hunter)
Georgia Tech – Paul Hewitt (Brian Gregory)
Kennesaw State – Tony Ingle (Lewis Preston)
Lamar – Steve Roccaforte (Pat Knight)
Louisiana Tech – Kerry Rupp (Michael White)
Loyola (Chicago) – Jim Whitesell (Porter Moser)
Manhattan – Barry Rohrssen (Steve Masiello)
Maryland - Gary Williams
Miami - Frank Haith (Jim Larranaga)
Monmouth – Dave Calloway (King Rice)
North Carolina State – Sidney Lowe (Mark Gottfried)
North Illinois – Ricardo Patton (Mark Montgomery)
Oklahoma – Jeff Capel (Lon Kruger)
Pepperdine – Tom Asbury (Marty Wilson)
Providence – Keno Davis (Ed Cooley)
Tennessee – Bruce Pearl (Cuonzo Martin)
Texas A&M-Corpus Christi – Perry Clark (Willis Wilson)
Texas Tech – Pat Knight (Billy Gillispie)
Towson – Pat Kennedy (Pat Skerry)
UC Davis – Gary Stewart
UNLV – Lon Kruger (Dave Rice)
Utah – Jim Boylen (Larry Krystowiak)
Wyoming – Heath Schroyer (Larry Shyatt)


We're revamping our Comments section. Learn more and share your input.

New York Sports