Good Evening
Good Evening

Long Islanders on USILA All-American teams

Duke lacrosse player Myles Jones, formerly of Whitman

Duke lacrosse player Myles Jones, formerly of Whitman High School. Credit: Duke Athletics

Long Island and the Ivy League were well-represented on the 2016 men’s Division I lacrosse All-American first team.

Attack Dylan Molloy of Brown (St. Anthony’s), who led the nation in scoring, defenseman Michael Quinn of Yale (Chaminade) and goalie Jack Kelly of Brown (West Islip) were among five Ivy Leaguers on this year’s 16-man team, which also included Duke midfielder Myles Jones (Whitman).

The 18-man second team included two more Long Islanders – Notre Dame attack Matt Kavanagh (Chaminade) and Marquette long-stick midfielder Liam Byrnes (West Islip).

The 22-man third team included five more former Long Island high school stars: Harvard attack Devin Dywer (Garden City), Brown midfielder Brendan Caputo (Chaminade), Maryland long-stick midfielder Greg Danseglio (St. Anthony’s) and defenseman Tim Muller (Chaminade) and Harvard defenseman Robert Duvniak (Manhasset).

Among the honorable mention All-Americans from Long Island were Penn State attack Nick Aponte (West Islip), Fairfield attack Colin Burke (Cold Spring Harbor), Villanova attack Jake Froccaro (Port Washington), Duke attack Justin Guterding (Garden City), St. Joseph’s attack Mike Rastivo (Ward Melville), Johns Hopkins midfielder John Crawley (Port Washington), and Loyola midfielder Brian Sherlock (St. Anthony’s).

Below are the All-American teams in their entirety:

First Team


Dylan Molloy, Brown

Connor Cannizzaro, Denver

Dylan Donahue, Syracuse

Ben Reeves, Yale


Myles Jones, Duke

Deemer Class, Duke

Bryan Cole, Maryland

Zach Miller, Denver

Sergio Perkovic, Notre Dame

Longstick Midfielder

Larken Kemp, Brown

SS Middie

Isaiah Davis-Allen, Maryland


Trevor Baptiste, Denver


Matt Landis, Notre Dame

Christian Burgdorf, Denver

Michael Quinn, Yale


Jack Kelly, Brown

Second Team


Ryan Brown, Johns Hopkins

Matthew Kavanagh, Notre Dame

Matt Rambo, Maryland

Pat Spencer, Loyola


Michael Keasey, Yale

Nick Mariano, Syracuse

Tyler Pace, Denver

Sergio Salcido, Syracuse

Longstick Midfielder

Liam Byrnes, Marquette

John Sexton, Notre Dame

SS Middie

Jake Matthai, North Carolina


Will Gural, Brown

Ben Williams, Syracuse


Matt Dunn, Maryland

Chris Fennell, Navy

Brandon Mullins, Syracuse

Alec Tulett, Brown


Kyle Bernlohr, Maryland

Third Team


Kylor Bellistri, Brown

Scott Bieda, Rutgers

Devin Dwyer, Harvard

Connor Fields, Albany


Brendan Caputo, Brown

Ian Mackay, Vermont

Challen Rogers, Stony Brook

Longstick Midfielder

Greg Danseglio, Maryland

Matt Rees, Navy

SS Middie

Jack Adams, Towson

Mark Glicini, Yale

Jacob Richard, Marquette

Jon Yozzo-Scaperrotta, Brown


Dylan Protesto, Hartford


Robert Duvnjak, Harvard

B.J. Grill, Marquette

Robby Haus, Ohio State

Chris Keating, Yale

Tim Muller, Maryland

Austin Pifani, North Carolina


Shane Doss, Notre Dame

Blaze Riorden, Albany

Honorable Mention

Attack: Nick Aponte (Penn State), Henry Blynn (Brown University), Colin Burke (Fairfield University), Ryan Drenner (Towson University), Jake Froccaro (Villanova University), Justin Guterding (Duke University), Colin Heacock (Maryland), Nate Lewnes (University of Maryland Baltimore County), Dan Lomas (High Point University), Ryan McNamara (Marquette University), Seth Oakes (University at Albany), Steven Pontrello (University of North Carolina), Michael Rastivo (Saint Joseph’s University), Shack Stanwick (Johns Hopkins), Chris Walsch (United States Air Force Academy)

Midfield: John Crawley (Johns Hopkins), Jack Curran (Villanova University), Zach Currier (Princeton University), Patrick Kelly (University of North Carolina), Joe Lang (Harvard University), John Maloney (University at Albany), TJ Neubauer (Fairfield University), Casey Rees (United States Naval Academy), Eric Scott (Yale University), Brian Sherlock (Loyola University Maryland), Michael Tagliaferri (University of North Carolina), Zed Williams (University of Virginia)

Longstick Midfielder: Michael Howard (University of Virginia), Connor Keating (University of Pennsylvania), Zack Sikora (Rutgers), Alex Spring (Bucknell University)

Face-off: Stephen Kelly (University of North Carolina), Kyle Rowe (Duke University)

Defense: Nick Fields (Johns Hopkins), Mike Lowe (Towson University), Alex Warden (United States Air Force Academy)

Goalie: Gunnar Waldt (Bryant University)

New York Sports