Citing a "person familiar with the discussions," the Associated Press is reporting that the Big Ten will reveal its divisions for next season with an announcement Wednesday night.

Nebraska joins the Big Ten next season and becomes the 12th team. The conference will split into two divisions and hold a championship game in 2011 at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis.

There has been a report that Iowa and Wisconsin won't be in the same division. There has also been speculation that Ohio State and Michigan will be split.

If I had to guess, the Big Ten took Ohio State, Michigan, Nebraska, Penn State, Wisconsin and Iowa to start with when forming divisions.

The divisions, at least for those six teams, could look something like this ....

advertisement | advertise on newsday

Ohio State
Penn State


UPDATE (3:26 p.m.):'s Andy Katz is reporting the division alignments here. Katz reports that Ohio State, Penn State, Wisconsin, Ilinois, Indiana and Purdue will be in one division; Iowa, Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Nebraska and Northwestern will be in the other division.