An NCAA lacrosse champion will be crowned on Long Island in 2011 for the first time since the first championship game at Hofstra in 1971.

The NCAA announced Tuesday that Stony Brook will host the Division I women's lacrosse championship on May 27 and 29, 2011, at LaValle Stadium. Cornell won the men's title in 1971.

"We are thrilled to have the opportunity to once again partner with the NCAA to host a championship event," Stony Brook athletic director Jim Fiore said in a statement. "This is a phenomenal opportunity for Stony Brook University, the Long Island community and our women's lacrosse program."

This will be the second time the women's title will be determined in New York since its inception in 1982 (Princeton won the 2003 championship at Syracuse's Carrier Dome).

The Stony Brook women's program, which was founded in 2003, has never been an NCAA Tournament participant.

advertisement | advertise on newsday

"Our university and staff are extremely supportive of women's lacrosse and I look forward to the opportunity to be a part of this event for Stony Brook," Seawolves head coach Allison Comito, who won four titles at Maryland from 1998-2001, said in a statement.

It was also announced Tuesday that LaValle Stadium will host the 2010 men's lacrosse North quarterfinals; Hofstra hosted the same round in May. The 2006 quarterfinals were at Stony Brook, when LaValle set an attendance record of 8,335.

Stony Brook installed an 89,298-foot FieldTurf surface in the stadium in June.

Ryan Bamford, chairman of the NCAA Division I women's lacrosse committee, said: "The committee was thoroughly impressed with Stony Brook's bid and recent NCAA championship events hosted by the university. Those factors, combined with the growth of lacrosse on Long Island, will no doubt make this an outstanding championship weekend."