62° Good Morning
62° Good Morning

Brady gets 2nd MVP

Super Bowls won: Super Bowl XXXVI, XXXVIII, XXXIX,

Super Bowls won: Super Bowl XXXVI, XXXVIII, XXXIX, XLIX, LI, LIII
Brady became the first quarterback ever to win five Super Bowls as he rallied the Patriots from a 25-point deficit to beat the Falcons, 34-28, in the Super Bowl's first overtime game. Brady threw for 466 yards and two touchdowns and was named the MVP. He then became the first to win six Super Bowls a few years later, captaining a win over the Los Angeles Rams. Brady won the Super Bowl in his first season over the St. Louis Rams and also won the MVP of the game. He led the New England Patriots down the field setting up the game-winning field goal. He won back-to-back Super Bowls in 2004-05 beating the Panthers and Eagles. In Super Bowl XLIX, Brady again was named MVP as he went 37-for-50 for 328 yards and four touchdowns. He threw two fourth-quarter TDs as the Patriots erased a 10-point deficit. Credit: AP

 Tom Brady has won his second Associated Press Most Valuable Player Award, although it's not the hardware he wanted on Super Bowl Sunday. 

Brady also won the award in 2007, the year the Patriots became the first NFL team to go 16-0 in the regular season. The Patriots lost to the Giants in Super Bowl XLII. 

Brady became the first unanimous choice for the AP Award. He received all 50 votes of a nationwide panel of media members who cover the league. Full disclosure: I'm one of the voters. 

"It is always flattering to be chosen for such a prestigious award," Brady said. "But I also look at it as a team award, as nothing in football gets accomplished without the mental toughness and determination of every player and coach associated with that team.
"I am very humbled to be a part of an organization where winning comes first, and our goals are based around the success of the team."

Brady led the Patriots to a 14-2 record, the NFL's best in 2010. He had a record streak of 355 throws without being intercepted, and had 36 touchdowns and four interceptions.

Brady played part of the year with a sore right foot that required postseason surgery. He threw four touchdowns in a game on two occasions, and had three TDs in four other games. 

The MVP was the final AP individual award presented for the 2010 season. The others: 

Defensive Player of the Year: Troy Polamalu
Offensive Player of the Year: Tom Brady
Coach of the Year: Bill Belichick
Comeback Player of the Year:Michael Vick
Offensive Rookie of the Year: Sam Bradford
Defensive Rookie of the Year:Ndamukong Suh

New York Sports