19° Good Morning
19° Good Morning

Giants still challenging call on Ballard

Fully healthy or not, Jake Ballard said he

Fully healthy or not, Jake Ballard said he would play Sunday. (Dec. 4, 2011) Credit: Jim McIsaac

A picture may be worth 1,000 words, but Tom Coughlin offered up just two: "He's in."

Coughlin said he was "sick to my stomach" when Jerry Reese handed him a piece of paper Monday afternoon with a Fox screen grab of Jake Ballard's knee apparently touching the turf in the end zone before the rest of him tumbled out of bounds. The officials in Sunday's game ruled that it was not a touchdown -- they confirmed the ruling even after the Giants challenged -- but Coughlin and his team still struggled with that explanation Monday.

"Don't ask me about that because I really don't know why," Coughlin said. "But I did see the picture."

The play took place late in the first quarter when Eli Manning threw a 20-yard pass to the left side of the end zone. A touchdown would have given the Giants a 14-7 lead, but instead they settled for a 38-yard field goal and a 10-7 edge.

NFL officials do not view still photographs when reviewing plays, and plenty of replays on the Fox broadcast made it look as if Ballard was out of bounds. This particular frame of footage from the broadcast that Coughlin said Reese was "carrying around" showed otherwise, and there were other images taken that could have been interpreted as his knee being inbounds.

That wasn't the only call the Giants were griping about, however. There was the illegal-contact call against Jacquian Williams that negated a sack and what looked like an incompletion on Greg Jennings' touchdown early in the third quarter as he juggled the ball in the back of the end zone. That was ruled a touchdown and was confirmed after review. "Most of us know exactly what the rule reads like, but I've seen it interpreted a lot of different ways," Coughlin said. "It's confusing to me."


We're revamping our Comments section. Learn more and share your input.

New York Sports