TODAY'S PAPER
Scattered Clouds 46° Good Afternoon
Scattered Clouds 46° Good Afternoon
SportsFootballGiants

The worst kept secret in the NFL is no longer a secret

Surprise!

The big news of the day isn't that the Giants are going to Albany for training camp, it's that they actually announced it.

The team will hold its 2010 training camp at the University at Albany this summer and has an option for 2011 and 2012. This will be the 15th consecutive season at Albany.

“Albany has been an ideal summer home for our football team,” said Giants President John Mara. “With the support of President Philip and his predecessors and Mayor Jennings and the rest of the staff at the university, in addition to the great facilities, we have felt for 15 years that starting our season in Albany gives us the best chance to succeed each season.”

“I can’t say enough about the cooperation we receive from the university and its staff,” said Tom Coughlin. “The spirit of a common purpose and objective allows our team to get the work done that is necessary for us to compete at the highest level at the outset of the season. Our coaches and players appreciate the opportunity the University at Albany affords us to be the best we can be.”

The team reports on Aug. 1, which is also the first day of practice. They'll leave on Aug. 20, a day before the second preseason game at home against the Steelers. Here's the schedule for training camp for those of you who want to make the trip up there or try to weave a stop into a family vacation this summer:

2010 New York Giants Training Camp Schedule

August 1 (Sun.)
Practice: 3:15-5:15 p.m.

August 2 (Mon.)
Practice #1: 8:35-10:35 a.m.
Practice #2: 3:15-5:15 p.m.

August 3 (Tues.)
Practice #1: 8:35-10:35 a.m.
Practice #2: 3:15-5:15 p.m.

August 4 (Wed.)
No Practice

August 5 (Thurs.)
Practice #1: 8:35-10:35 a.m.
Practice #2: 6:05-8:05 p.m.

August 6 (Fri.)
Practice: 2:35-4:35 p.m.

August 7 (Sat.)
Practice #1: 8:35-10:35 a.m.
Practice #2: 6:05-8:05 p.m.

August 8 (Sun.)
No Practice

August 9 (Mon.)
Practice #1: 8:35-10:35 a.m.
Practice #2: 6:05-8:05 p.m.

August 10 (Tues.)
Practice: 2:35-4:35 p.m.

August 11 (Wed.)
Practice #1: 8:35-10:35 a.m.
Practice #2: 6:05-8:05 p.m.

August 12 (Thurs.)
Practice: 2:35-4:35 p.m.

August 13 (Fri.)
Practice #1: 8:35-10:35 a.m.
Practice #2: 6:05-8:05 p.m.

August 14 (Sat.)
Practice: 2:35-4:35 p.m.

August 15 (Sun.)
Practice: AM - TBA

August 16 (Mon.)
NFL Preseason Game
@ New York Jets, 8 p.m. (ESPN)

August 17 (Tues.)
No Practice

August 18 (Wed.)
Practice: 2:35-4:35 p.m.

August 19 (Thurs.)
Practice: 2:35-4:35 p.m.

August 20 (Fri.)
Practice: AM – TBA Camp Ends

August 21 (Sat.)
NFL Preseason Game
vs. Pittsburgh, 7 p.m.

New York Sports