58° Good Afternoon
58° Good Afternoon

New York/New Jersey gets 2014 Super Bowl

It's official! New York/New Jersey has been awarded the 2014 Super Bowl (XLVIII).

Since no city could get 24 votes during the process, it took four rounds of voting to determine the winner.

Miami (South Florida) was eliminated on the second vote, leaving the last two votes with New York/New Jersey against Tampa. New York/New Jersey didn't get the necessary 24 votes on the third vote. On the fourth vote, a simply majority (17 votes) won it for New York/New Jersey.

The record low for a Super Bowl was in 1972 (Super Bowl VI) at Tulane Stadium in New Orleans. The kickoff temperature was 39 degrees.

The New York area will undoubtedly be colder than 39 degrees in early February.

New York Sports