Good Afternoon
Good Afternoon

Aaron Rodgers wins his third NFL MVP Award after career-high 48-TD pass season

Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers prepares to throw before

Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers prepares to throw before an NFL game against the Falcons on Oct. 5, 2020, in Green Bay, Wis.  Credit: AP/Mike Roemer

After the Packers looked to the future, trading up to pick quarterback Jordan Love in the first round of the 2020 NFL Draft, Aaron Rodgers put together one of his best seasons in leading Green Bay to the NFC’s best record this season. The 37-year-old quarterback was rewarded for his efforts Saturday when he won his third Associated Press Most Valuable Player award.

Rodgers led the NFL with a career-high 48 touchdown passes and completed more than 70% of his passes (70.7) for the first time since taking over for Brett Favre in 2008.

Coach of the Year

Kevin Stefanski was voted Coach of the Year after leading the Browns to their first playoff berth since 2002. He was hired before the 2020 season to replace Freddie Kitchens, who was fired after one season.

Comeback Player of the Year

Alex Smith won the league’s Comeback Player of the Year award for his remarkable return from a life-threatening lower leg injury in 2018. Smith, who missed the entire 2019 season, took over as Washington’s starting quarterback after former first-round pick Dwayne Haskins was benched and helped Washington win the NFC East title.

Defensive Player of the Year

Rams defensive tackle Aaron Donald won the award for the third time in the last four seasons. He was second to Steelers pass rusher T.J. Watt with 13.5 sacks and helped the Rams reach the playoffs for the second time in the last three seasons.

Offensive Player of the Year

Titans running back Derrick Henry, who surpassed 2,000 rushing yards for the first time in his career, won the award. Henry finished with 2,027 yards.

Other awards

Chargers quarterback Justin Herbert was named Offensive Rookie of the Year and Washington defensive end Chase Young was named Defensive Rookie of the Year. Bills offensive coordinator Brian Daboll earned assistant coach honors. Seahawks quarterback Russell Wilson won the Walter Payton Man of the Year award.

New York Sports