Good Morning
Good Morning

No. 1 seed no guarantee to win Super Bowl

Giants head coach Tom Coughlin poses with the

Giants head coach Tom Coughlin poses with the Vince Lombardi Trophy after the Giants defeated the Patriots by a score of 21-17 in Super Bowl XLVI. (Feb. 5, 2012) Credit: Getty Images

Only one of the last eight Super Bowl champions have gone into the playoffs as the top seed in their conference. Four of the eight were seeded fourth or lower. A look at where the champs came from:

Super Bowl XLVI Giants NFC No. 4 9-7
Super Bowl XLV Packers NFC No. 6 10-6
Super Bowl XLIV Saints NFC No. 1 13-3
Super Bowl XLIII Steelers AFC No. 2 12-4
Super Bowl XLII Giants NFC No. 5 10-6
Super Bowl XLI Colts AFC No. 3 12-4
Super Bowl XL Steelers AFC No. 6 11-5
Super Bowl XXXIX Patriots AFC No. 2 14-2

New York Sports