Good Morning
Good Morning

Parcells, Martin Hall of Fame finalists

Bill Parcells became the Jets head coach before

Bill Parcells became the Jets head coach before the start of the 1997-98 season.
Credit: AP

Former Giants two-time winning Super Bowl coach Bill Parcells, who also coached the Jets for three seasons, and former Jets running back Curtis Martin are among 15 modern-era finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2012. The announcement was made today by the Hall of Fame. 

The selections will be made by a panel of voters on Feb. 4 in Indianapolis, site of Super Bowl XLVI, set for Feb. 5. 

Parcells coached the Giants from 1983-90 and won the team’s first two Super Bowl titles after the 1986 and 1990 seasons. After stepping down as the Giants’ coach in May, 1991, he returned to the sidelines as the Patriots’ head coach from 1993-96 and led New England to a Super Bowl appearance after the 1996 season. He coached the Jets from 1997-99, served as the team’s general manager in 2000 and coached the Dallas Cowboys from 2003-06. 

Martin was drafted by the Patriots in 1995, when Parcells was New England’s coach, and Parcells later signed Martin as a restricted free agent with the Jets in 1998. After gaining more than 1,000 yards in each of his three seasons with the Patriots, he went on to become the Jets’ all-time leading rusher with 10,302 yards. He finished his NFL career with 14,101 yards, the fourth highest among all running backs. Martin, who had at least 1,000 rushing yards from 1995-2004, retired after the 2005 season because of knee problems.

Former Giants general manager George Young, who teamed with Parcells to build the franchise’s first two Super Bowl titles, did not make it to the finals.

Although there isn’t a set number of enshrinees for any class, the Pro Football Hall of Fame's current rules stipulate that between four and seven new members will be selected each year. No more than five modern-era nominees can be elected in a given year, and a class of six or seven can only be achieved if one or both senior nominees are elected.

The other modern-day and two seniors committee finalists are running back Jerome Bettis; wide receiver/kick returner Tim Brown; cornerback Jack Butler (sr.); wide receiver Cris Carter; center Dermontti Dawson; owner Edward DeBartolo Jr.; defensive end Chris Doleman; linebacker/defensive end Kevin Greene; defensive end/linebacker Charles Haley; defensive tackle Cortez Kennedy; wide receiver Andre Reed; tackle Willie Roaf; guard Will Shields; guard Dick Stanfel (sr.); and cornerback Aeneas Williams.

New York Sports