Clear 13° Good Morning
Clear 13° Good Morning
SportsFootballSuper Bowl

Numbers and notes from Super Bowl XLVII

Baltimore Ravens wide receiver Anquan Boldin celebrates with

Baltimore Ravens wide receiver Anquan Boldin celebrates with teammate Bobbie Williams after catching a 13-yard touchdown pass from quarterback Joe Flacco. (Feb. 3, 2013) Photo Credit: AP

NEW ORLEANS - Some Super Bowl XLVII notes:

With the win, the Ravens become the 12th team to win multiple Super Bowls. Since they won their first title in Super Bowl XXXV, only the Giants, Patriots and Steelers have won multiple championships.

John Harbaugh became the 29th Super Bowl-winning head coach.

Joe Flacco is the 20th quarterback to win Super Bowl MVP. A quarterback has won the award 26 times. It is the fourth consecutive season that the winner was a quarterback.

No team had ever scored as more points as the 49ers in a Super Bowl (31) and lost. The Steelers also scored 31 in a 35-31 loss to Dallas in Super Bowl XIII.

Ed Reed's interception was the ninth of his postseason career, tying him with Ronnie Lott, Bill Simpson and Charlie Waters for the most in NFL history.

49ers quarterbacks had thrown 169 passes in Super Bowls without an interception until Reed's pick in the second quarter.

The 108-yard kickoff return by Jacoby Jones matches the longest in NFL history, regular-season or postseason. There have been three other 108-yard kickoff returns: One by Jones earlier this year, one by Ellis Hobbs of the Patriots in 2007 and one by Randall Cobb of the Packers in 2011.

Jones' return was the longest play of any kind in Super Bowl history, surpassing James Harrison's 100-yard interception return in Super Bowl XLIII. No player had ever taken a kickoff out of the end zone and scored a touchdown in Super Bowl history; the longest kickoff return ever was Desmond Howard's 99-yarder in Super Bowl XXXI.

Jones joins Ricky Sanders of the Redskins (Super Bowl XXII) as the only player with two touchdown plays of 50 or more yards in a Super Bowl game.

Before Colin Kaepernick's 15-yard touchdown run, the longest scoring run by a quarterback in the Super Bowl belonged to Joe Montana who had a 6-yard run in Super Bowl XIX.

Kaepernick had 62 rushing yards, 2 yards shy of the Super Bowl rushing record for a quarterback, which was set by Steve McNair in Super Bowl XXXIV.

The Ravens became the 21st Super Bowl champion to never trail in the course of the game.

New York Sports